ICC announces T20 team of the year 2023!! Indian player named captain, 3 other Indian teammates included

Published - 22 Jan 2024, 03:54 PM | Updated - 22 Jan 2024, 04:32 PM

India, ICC T20 Team Of The Year 2023
India won the third T20I in the second Super Over (credits:X)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has released the 11 prolific names who have made it to the ICC T20 Team Team of the Year 2023 due to their exceptional performances throughout the calendar year. It is a proud moment for the Indian team as 4 players – Suryakumar Yadav, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ravi Bishnoi, and Arshdeep Singh have all been rewarded for their exceptional performances for the Men in Blue in the shortest format.

Elsewhere, England’s Phil Salt, West Indies’ Nicholas Pooran, New Zealand’s Mark Chapman, Zimbabwe’s Sikander Raza, Uganda’s Alpesh Ramjani, Ireland’s Mark Adair, and another Zimbabwean Richard Ngarava have made it to the T20I team of the year.

For all of the 4 Indian players that have appeared in the ICC T20I team of the year, it is a massive accolade for them and it gives them a lot of confidence heading into the T20 World cup in June at USA and West Indies. It will especially be more special for Surya Kumar Yadav who has been named as the captain of the team.

Last year he was named as the T20I player of the year in 2022 for his outstanding figures of 1164 runs in 31 matches for the Men in Blue. In 2023, Surya scored 733 runs in 18 matches at a strike rate of 155, something he would like to improve in 2024.

The vice-captain of the T20I side is currently in the sidelines due to injury but he is most likely to return in action during IPL later this March in order to grind hard to help the Indian team end their ICC trophy drought.

Another player who came out as a major revelation was opening batsman Yashasvi Jaiswal who has made the opening position his own. He has become a regular feature along with Rohit Sharma at the top order and has turned the heat on with his exhilarating performances.

Last year in 14 T20Is since making his debut in West Indies on August, Jaiswal smacked 430 runs at a strike rate of 159. The 22-year-old is most likely going to be a key player for India in the T20 World cup and he is another splendid IPL season away from sealing his spot.

Big Wins For Ravi Bishnoi And Arshdeep Singh In ICC T20I TOTY 2023

While Surya Kumar and Yashasvi Jaiswal’s inclusion doesn’t come as a shock, 2 Indian players that very few were expecting to be a part of the ICC T20I TOTY 2023 are right arm leg spinner Ravi Bishnoi and left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh.

Starting with Ravi Bishnoi, the 23-year-old leggie registered 18 wickets across 11 matches with a decent economy rate of less than 8 out of the 44 overs he bowled in 2023. He is currently World number 6 in the ICC T20I bowler rankings but last month he had climbed to the summit before dropping down to 6.

As for Arshdeep Singh, the left-arm pacer has gone from strength to strength in his short international career. He has definitely cemented himself in India’s T20 set up for his improved performances last year. Arshdeep accounted for 26 wickets in 21 outings with an economy rate of 9.26, something he would like improve before the T20 World cup. He was also a part of the Indian team that won the gold medal in 19th Asian Games at Hangzhou.

So with 4 Indian players reaping the rewards of their hard work, the Indian team will be hoping for them to shine 5 months later in the ICC T20 World Cup.


Arshdeep Singh India National Cricket Team International Cricket Council (ICC) Ravi Bishnoi Surya Kumar Yadav Yashasvi Jaiswal