Mahela Jayawardene, ICC Final,
Mahela Jayawardene (Image Credit: Twitter)

Former cricketers Janette Brittin, Mahela Jayawardene, and Shaun Pollock are announced as the latest inductees in the ICC Hall of Fame.

These three legends of the game will be formally inducted by former West Indies captain and ICC Hall of Famer, Sir Clive Lloyd ahead of the T20 World Cup final between New Zealand and Australia on Sunday at the Dubai International Stadium.

ICC Acting CEO Geoff Allardice said: “The ICC Hall of Fame is our way of honouring and celebrating the greats of our game. Only the very best players are recognized for their contribution to cricket in this way. I would like to congratulate Mahela and Shaun on their induction into this illustrious group and it is a wonderful way to commemorate Janette’s life and career.”

Janette Brittin
Janette Brittin batting vs Australia. Image-Getty

It’s a very special honour to follow in the footsteps of legends Sanga and Murali: Mahela Jayawardene

Mahela Jayawardene retired as one of Sri Lanka’s greatest ever players, a key member of the team that won the 2014 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup and reached four other major ICC finals. He is the first Sri Lankan batter to reach 10,000 Test runs.

Mahela Jayawardene said: “I am thrilled to have been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. It’s a very special honour to follow in the footsteps of legends Sanga and Murali from Sri Lanka and so many other great cricketers of the past.

Mahela Jayawardene, Test
Mahela Jayawardene (Image Credit: Twitter)

South Africa’s Shaun Pollock was one of the finest bowling all-rounders the game has ever seen and was the first player to achieve the 3,000 run and 300 wicket doubles in both Test and ODI cricket. Pollock still remains South Africa’s leading wicket-taker in international cricket.

Shaun Pollock said: “I would like to thank the ICC for this recognition of my career. It’s an amazing honour to be included in the Hall of Fame alongside the very illustrious company that has already been inducted. It’s a real cherry on the top or maybe even a book end of what has been a thoroughly enjoyable cricketing experience and I’d like to thank my teammates who played such a massive part along the journey.”

South Africa national team
Shaun Pollock[photo: Twitter]
Janet Brittin was a mainstay of the England Test team for 19 years, helping to pave the way for women’s cricket between 1979 and 1998. She was part of England’s World Cup-winning side in 1993. Brittin sadly passed away in 2017.

Angela Bainbridge, a friend of Janette Brittin said: “I would like to extend my thanks to the ICC for the incredible honour they have bestowed on Jan by inaugurating her into the Hall of Fame.

“I along with Jan’s parents Maggie and Kevin are incredibly proud of her and her achievements and this award recognises both the player and the person that she was. You could not wish to meet a more humble or talented player and she always gave 100% whether she played for club, county, or country.

“Jan truly was a wonderful player and a fantastic role model for those that followed her. She would have loved to play in the professional forum that the girls enjoy today and would be proud of how they have all moved the game forward. It is sad that Jan is not able to collect this trophy herself, but her memory will live on.”

New Zealand will be playing in their maiden T20 World Cup final, while it’s the second appearance for Australia, who lost in 2010 to England.

Also Read: New India Head Coach Rahul Dravid Ahead Of The New Zealand Series Reaches Jaipur Without Support Staff