ICC T20 World Cup 2021
ICC T20 World Cup 2021 (Image Credit: Twitter)

Last Update on: August 13th, 2021 at 09:36 pm

In the latest news, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has decided that they will bear the expenses of 15 players and 8 officials/staff of all the teams – 16 in total – which are going to compete in the T20 World Cup later in the year in the UAE.

Additionally, the governing council has also granted permission to the teams to bring in extra players, keeping in mind that the injury replacements have to be with the original squad because of the quarantine rule. However, the ICC would not pay the expenses of those extra players, and their own boards would be required to take care of that.

ICC logo. (Credits: Web)

A Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) official confirmed this news to PTI on Friday. The source also stated that the ICC has set the deadline of September 10 for the boards to submit their final 15-man squad, and 8 officials/coaches names for the tournament, although that can be modified until five days before the players go into quarantine.

“The ICC has also allowed all participating nations to bring additional players with their squads because of the COVID-19 situation and bio-secure bubble but the concerned boards will have to bear the costs of these additional players. The ICC bears the expenses of only 15 players and eight officials,” a PCB official told PTI. 

“It is now up to the boards to decide how many additional players they want to have with their main squads given the COVID-19 situation because if any player tests positive or they are injury issues, the teams can take replacements from their additional players. But the boards have to send their squads by 10th September.”

West Indies
West Indies players celebrate with the T20 WC Trophy [Image-Getty]
The tournament, which will run from October 17 to November 14, will be played in the UAE and Oman after it was moved out of India due to the covid-19 situation in India. West Indies are the defending champions having won their second T20 World title in 2016.

ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Super 12 groups:

Group 1 – England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, Winner Group A, Runner-up Group B

Group 2 – India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Runner-up Group A, Winner Group B

Qualifying round groups:

Group A – Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B – Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman