IND vs BAN: Ravindra Jadeja Joins Kapil Dev In Elite List As He Achieves Unique ODI Record

Updated - 15 Sep 2023, 08:22 PM

Ravindra Jadeja, Kapil Dev
PC: AFP/Getty

Indian all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja after dismissing Bangladesh batter Shamim Hossain has joined an elite list of all-rounders with more then more than 2000 ODI runs and more than 200 ODI wickets.

In the process, he became the only second Indian all-rounder to achieve this feat and the first since former Indian skipper Kapil Dev.

Jadeja dismissed Shamim in the 35th over soon after Shardul Thakur dismissed Shakib Al Hasan (80) in the 34th over. This happened after Shakib and Towhid Hridoy the two batters added a century stand.

Bowling to the left-hander from around the wicket, the ball pitched in line and turned in with Shamim beaten by the pace. Umpire Richard Illingworth was quick to raise his finger. Bangladesh lost two quick wickets after a good stand between Shakib and Towhid.

Ravindra Jadeja Joins Kapil Dev In Elite All-Rounder’s List

Overall, Ravindra Jadeja has played 182 ODIs and has scored 2578 runs at an average of 32.22, and with the ball he has bagged 200 wickets at an average of 36.92. Kapil Dev, meanwhile, played 225 ODIs in his illustrious career and scored 3783 runs at an average of 23.79, and with the ball, he picked up 253 wickets at an average of 27.45.

Bangladesh were 59/4 when Shakib joined hands with Hridoy. The two batters attacked the Indian bowlers, especially the Indian spinners. Shakib hit Axar Patel for two sixes and hit one against Jadeja.

Also Read: IND vs BAN: Watch – ‘Water Boy’ Virat Kohli’s Hilarious Sprint Leaves Fans In Splits During Asia Cup 2023

Indian Bowlers With 200+ ODI wickets

334 – Anil Kumble
315 – Javagal Srinath
288 – Ajit Agarkar
269 – Zaheer Khan
265 – Harbhajan Singh
253 – Kapil Dev
200 – Ravindra Jadeja*

Ravindra Jadeja also became the seventh Indian bowler to take 200 or more ODI wickets. Former captain Anil Kumble leads the tally with 334 wickets. Javagal Srinath is placed second with 315 wickets. Current Chief Selector Ajit Agarkar (288), Zaheer Khan (269), Harbhajan Singh (265), and Kapil Dev (253) are the other names in the list.

Earlier in the game, India won the toss and opted to field first. They made as many as five changes resting Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, and Hardik Pandya.

India have already reached the finals of the tournament by beating Pakistan and Sri Lanka. They will take on Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup 2023 final on Sunday.

“Whenever we step onto the field, we always take pride in ourselves in playing for India. The win against Pakistan gave us more satisfaction but at the same time the game against Sri Lanka was also a terrific game. We did well in every department, we bowled well and fielded well. We’re representing our country and we take pride in going out there and playing for our country. I’m working on my bowling. Whenever I step onto the field I look to bowl at the stumps and try and not give them room. I look at the field placements and keeping all that in mind, I bowl according to the batsman,” said Jadeja to the broadcasters before the game.

Also Read: IND vs BAN: Rohit Sharma Joins Virat Kohli, Rahul Dravid In Elite List; Completes 200 Catches In International Cricket



Asia Cup 2023 IND vs BAN 2023 India vs Bangladesh 2023 Kapil Dev Ravindra Jadeja