Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma [PC: AFP/Getty Images]

Last Update on: September 12th, 2023 at 04:12 pm

Indian captain Rohit Sharma achieved a massive feat in the history of the One-Day Cricket. The senior Indian opener surpassed great Sachin Tendulkar to become the second-fastest batter in the history of the game to achieve 10,000 runs in the 50-over format. 

Rohit Sharma achieved the feat in the ongoing Super Four game of the Asia Cup 2023 against Sri Lanka at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. India won the toss and opted to bat first. Skipper has looked good once again and has provided his team with a decent start along with Shubman Gill. 

Coming into the game, Rohit Sharma was just 22 runs away from unlocking the 10000 ODI runs milestone. He looked quite positive with his shots and played some breathtaking hits, with the best one being the six with which he reached the milestone. He hit the six down the ground to become the second fastest batter to score 10000 runs as he achieved the feat in 241 innings, surpassing Tendulkar’s tally of 259 innings. 

After achieving 10,000 runs in ODIs, Rohit Sharma took the attack to the Sri Lankan pacers and smashed them all over the park, registering his third fifty in the tournament. The Indian captain along with Shubman Gill smashed the third consecutive fifty-plus stand in the ongoing Asia Cup. 

Read More  Sachin Tendulkar Announced As Global Ambassador For ICC World Cup 2023

IND vs SL: Fastest Player To Score 10000 ODI Runs; Rohit Sharma joins list 

Virat Kohli is the fastest player to score 10000 runs in the ODIs as he achieved the feat in 205 innings. Rohit Sharma is next on the list, having achieved the milestone in 241 innings. Sachin Tendulkar, who was No.1 in the list, is now third in the list. Whereas Sourav Ganguly and Ricky Ponting are also in the list.

S.No Player Name Team Innings taken to score 10K ODI runs
1. Virat Kohli India 205 innings
2. Rohit Sharma India 241 innings
3. Sachin Tendulkar India 259 innings
4. Sourav Ganguly India 263 innings
5. Ricky Ponting Australia 266 innings