IND vs SL: Rohit Sharma-Virat Kohli Become Fastest To Achieve 5000 ODI Runs Milestone As A Pair

Published - 12 Sep 2023, 06:59 PM

India , Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma
Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma [PC: AFP/Getty]

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma and former skipper Virat Kohli got to a special landmark in the Super 4 match against Sri Lanka on Tuesday. The batting pair became the fastest to 5000 ODI runs.

Rohit and Kohli also became the quickest pair ever to the landmark, surpassing the legendary West Indies duo of Gordon Greenidge and Desmond Haynes, who reached the landmark in 97 innings. The Indian batting pair got to the feat in just 86 innings.

The duo has combined together for 18th-century partnerships and 15 half-century stands with an average of 62.47. The highest partnership between the batting pair was 246 against Australia in 2018 as India chased down Australia’s target of 323.

Meanwhile, shortly after getting to the landmark, Kohli was dismissed by Lankan spinner Dunith Wellalage. Kohli was fresh off his 47th ODI ton as he scored 122* against Pakistan on Monday.

Read More: ICC Reveals Men’s And Women’s Player Of The Month For August 2023

However, the R Premadasa track was a different one for Tuesday’s game with the spinner having a bigger say in the game. Wellalage took three wickets in three consecutive overs dismissing Gill, Kohli, and Rohit. Rohit was dismissed just after he reached his 51st ODI fifty. The ball kept lower than Rohit expected and beat his defense.

Rohit Sharma-Virat Kohli Get To 5000 ODI Runs As A Pair

Most partnership runs for India in ODIs

Sourav Ganguly-Sachin Tendulkar: 8227 at 47.55 average
Shikhar Dhawan-Rohit Sharma: 5193 at 45.15 average
Virat Kohli-Rohit Sharma: 5006* at 62.6 average

Fastest to 5000 ODI Partnership runs (innings wise)

86 – Rohit Sharma /Virat Kohli*
97 – Gordon Greenidge/Desmond Haynes
104 – Matthew Hayden/Adam Gilchrist
104 – Tillakratne Dilshan/Kumara Sangakkara
112 – Rohit Sharma /Shikhar Dhawan
116 – Sachin Tendulkar /Sourav Ganguly

Also Read: Asia Cup Points Table 2023: Updated Standings After IND vs PAK Super Four Match 3


Asia Cup 2023 IND vs SL 2023 India vs Sri Lanka 2023 Rohit Sharma Virat Kohli