IND vs USA: Arshdeep Singh creates history as he achieves two incredible milestones with sensational spell against USA

Published - 12 Jun 2024, 11:32 PM | Updated - 12 Jun 2024, 11:34 PM

Arshdeep Singh
Arshdeep Singh (Credits: X)

Arshdeep Singh, on Wednesday (June 12), starred with the ball to help India bowl out the USA for a modest total in the 25th game of the ongoing ICC T20 World Cup 2024 at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York.

India captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bowl first at the venue where teams have struggled to do well with the bat in the tournament so far. His decision was justified by the bowlers as India restricted the USA to 110/8 in the allotted 20 overs.

Arshdeep Singh was the pick of the bowlers for India, taking 4 wickets for just 9 runs in his four overs. The left-arm pacer made a big impact in the very first over by dismissing Shayan Jahangir and Andries Gous. Later in the 15th over, he dismissed a well-set Nitish Kumar for 27 to give India a crucial breakthrough before sending back Harmeet Singh as well.

Arshdeep Singh creates history:

The brilliant spell against the USA helped Arshdeep Singh create history as he now holds the record for the best bowling figures by an Indian in the T20 World Cup. The record was previously held by Ravichandran Ashwin for his figures of 4 for 11 against Australia way back in 2014. Arshdeep Singh also became the first Indian bowler to take 4 wickets for less than 10 runs in the T20 World Cup.

  • 4/9 - Arshdeep Singh vs USA, New York, 2024
  • 4/11 - R Ashwin vs AUS, Mirpur, 2014
  • 4/12 - Harbhajan Singh vs ENG, Colombo, 2012
  • 4/13 - RP Singh vs SA, Durban, 2007
  • 4/19 - Zaheer Khan vs IRE, Nottingham, 2009
  • 4/21 - Pragyan Ojha vs BAN, Nottingham, 2009

Earlier in the game, the Punjab star also became the first-ever Indian bowler to take a wicket on the very first ball of the game in a T20 World Cup game. Overall, he became the fourth bowler to achieve the feat. 

Bowlers to take a wicket on first ball of a T20 World Cup match:

  • Mashrafe Mortaza (BAN) vs AFG, 2014
  • Shapoor Zadran (AFG) vs HK, 2014
  • Ruben Trumplemann (NAM) vs SCO, 2021
  • Ruben Trumplemann (NAM) vs OMAN, 2024
  • Arshdeep Singh (IND) vs USA, 2024


Arshdeep Singh India National Cricket Team USA National Cricket Team ICC T20 World Cup 2024