India And Pakistan Placed In Same Group As ICC Announces Groups Ahead Of T20 World Cup 2021
India And Pakistan Placed In Same Group As ICC Announces Groups Ahead Of T20 World Cup 2021

On expected terms, arch-rivals India and Pakistan have been placed in the same group in the Super 12 of the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup as the governing body announced the groups of the quadrennial event on Friday.

The ICC T20 World Cup will kickstart in Oman with the qualifying round from October 17.

Former champions Sri Lanka have been placed in Group A alongside Ireland, Netherlands, and Namibia while Bangladesh will be joined by Oman, PNG, and Scotland in Group B.

ICC, T20 World Cup Trophy, ICC
T20 World Cup Trophy. (Photo: Getty Images)

The winner of Group A and the runner-up of Group B will join the likes of Australia, South Africa, 2010 champions England and defending champions West Indies in Group 1.

India Team and Pakistan Team
India Team and Pakistan Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Similarly, the winner of Group B and the runner-up of Group A will join arch-rival and former champions India and Pakistan, New Zealand, and Afghanistan in Group 2.

Acting ICC CEO George Allardice said-

“We are delighted to announce the groups for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021. There are some great match ups offered by the groups and it starts to bring the event to life for our fans as our first multi-team event since the onset of the global pandemic draws closer. 

“Given the disruption caused by COVID-19, we selected the cutoff date as close as possible to the event to ensure we were able to include the maximum amount of cricket in the rankings which determine the groups. There is no doubt we will witness some highly competitive cricket when the event gets underway in just three months,” he said.

The final of the T20 World Cup will take place on November 14.


ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Groups-

Qualifying round-

Group A– Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Ireland, Namibia

Group B– Oman, PNG, Scotland, Bangladesh



Group 1– Australia, West Indies, South Africa, England, Winner of Group A, Runner-up of Group B

Group 2– India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Winner of Group B, Runner-up of Group A

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.