India Announce Squad For Australia T20Is, Harmanpreet Kaur To Lead India Women And Pooja Vastrakar Ruled Out Due To Injury

Published - 02 Dec 2022, 12:43 PM

Pooja Vastrakar
Pooja Vastrakar (Image Credit: Twitter)

The All-India Women’s Selection Committee has announced the squad for India’s upcoming five-match MasterCard T20I series against Australia, which begins on December 9 in Mumbai. All-rounder Pooja Vastrakar is ruled out of the series with an injury and was not considered for selection, as selectors picked promising uncapped left-arm bowler Anjali Sarvani on Friday.

Harmanpreet Kaur will captain the team, with opener Smriti Mandhana serving as her deputy. Shafali Verman, Jemimah Rodrigues, and Deepti Sharma are among those who have made the team. The home T20I series against Australia will be contested at two different venues in Mumbai, the D.Y. Patil Stadium and the CCI. The first of five matches will be played on December 9th, with the series concluding on December 20.

IPL 2023 | India tour of Bangladesh 2022 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

India Women's Cricket Team
India Women’s Cricket Team Photo Credit: (Twitter)

Pooja, who led the India C team in the Women’s T20 Challenger in Raipur, was “ruled out owing to an injury and was not considered for selection,” said a statement issued by BCCI secretary Jay Shah.

Sneh Rana has been left out of India’s squad, while Harleen Deol and Yastika Bhatia have returned to the T20I squad. Left-handed all-rounder Devika Vaidya returned to the India team after four years. Leg-spin allrounder, who made her international debut in a T20I against South Africa in 2014, was last seen in the 2018 ODI against England. Devika scored a match-winning 41 off 27 balls for India B in their T20 Challenger win over India C.

Devika Vaidya
Devika Vaidya (Image Credits: Twitter)

Andhra left-arm medium pacer Anjali Sarvani was impressed with her tidy bowling performance in India A’s runner-up finish in the Women’s Challenger earlier this month. The 25-year-old was outstanding against India D, finishing with figures of 2 for 11 from three overs to secure their place in the final. She took three wickets from four matches and finished with a 5.50 economy rate. Monika Patel, Arundhati Reddy, SB Pokharkar, and Simran Bahadur will all join the squad as net bowlers.

India squad for Australia ODIs:

Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Renuka Singh Thakur, Meghna Singh, Anjali Sarvani, Devika Vaidya, S Meghana, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper) and Harleen Deol.

Also read: IND vs BAN: “His Intent And Body Language Have To Be Always That Even If He Is Getting Hit, He Should Always Be Thinking Of Wickets” – Zaheer Khan On Umran Malik


Harmanpreet Kaur India Women National Cricket Team Pooja Vastrakar