CAB Congratulates Gargi Bannerjee
CAB Congratulates Gargi Bannerjee (Photo: Twitter)

Former Indian woman cricketer Gargi Banerjee has been appointed as the manager of India’s women team for their upcoming Australia tour. India is slated to play multi-format series against Australia during the tour, which consists of three ODIs, three T20Is, and a sole Test match.

Cricket Association of Bengal congratulated Gargi Banerjee for the achievement and felicitated her on Sunday (August 22). 60-year-old Gargi Banerjee is a former Indian cricketer who represented the national side from 1984 to 1991. She played 12 Tests and 26 ODIs for the Indian women team.

CAB Felicitates Gargi Banerjee
CAB Felicitates Gargi Banerjee (Photo: Twitter)

CAB Felicitates Gargi Banerjee

Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) congratulated Gargi Bannerjee for earning the prestigious role in the national team and felicitated her. In the tweet shared by the Association, CAB President Avishek Dalmiya can be seen presenting a garland of flowers to Banerjee.

“Former India Player #GargiBanerjee appointed as manager of Indian Women’s Team for their Tour to #Australia . President, #AvishekDalmiya congratulated her and wished her all the best for the assignment”, CAB’s tweet read. Have a look at the tweet below. 

Meg Lanning, Harmanpreet Kaur
Meg Lanning, Harmanpreet Kaur. (Photo: Twitter)

The India women’s tour of Australia will commence on September 19 next month with the first ODI at Sydney. The 2nd ODI and 3rd ODI will be played on September 22 and September 24 respectively in Melbourne. Post the ODI series, a one-off historic Day-Night Test will commence on September 30 in Perth.

The tour will conclude with a three-match T20I series. The three T20I matches will be played on October 7, 9, and 11. All the T20I encounters will take place in Sydney. Meg Lanning is going to lead the Australian team during the tour.

Indian women’s team (Photo-Getty)
Indian women’s team (Photo-Getty)

The Indian women squad for the Australia tour is yet to be announced. A total of 30 players have been asked to report to National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru before August 22 (Sunday). The team will undergo a six-day quarantine period before departing to Australia. The Indian team is expected to fly to Australia on August 29 or 30.

Also Read: Australia Women Squad For Multi-Format Home Series Against India Announced, Meg Lanning To Lead The 18-Member Side

Below is the full schedule India Women Tour Of Australia 2021

1st ODI – September 19 (Sydney)

2nd ODI – September 22 (Melbourne)

3rd ODI – September 24 (Melbourne)

Only Test (Day-night) – September 30 to October 3 (Perth)

1st T20I – October 7 (Sydney)

2nd T20I – October 9 (Sydney)

3rd T20I – October 11 (Sydney)