Australia Women Squad For Multi-Format Home Series Against India Announced, Meg Lanning To Lead The 18-Member Side

Published - 18 Aug 2021, 07:13 PM | Updated - 16 Apr 2024, 12:17 PM

Australia Women Cricket Team
Australia Women Cricket Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Cricket Australia has announced an 18-member squad for an upcoming Australia women‘s series against India women. The Australian women team will take on India at their home in a three-match ODI series, three-match T20I series, and one-off Test. Meg Lanning has been named the captain of the Australian squad.

The India Women‘s Tour of Australia will commence on September 19 with the first ODI. The 2nd ODI and 3rd ODI will be played on September 22 and September 24 respectively. All the ODI matches will be played in Melbourne. Post the ODI series, a sole historic Day-Night Test encounter will commence on September 30 in Perth. It will be followed by three-match T20I Series from October 7 to 11 in Sydney.

Meg Lanning and Harmanpreet Kaur
Meg Lanning and Harmanpreet Kaur (Image Credit: Twitter)

Here’s Australia Women Squad For Multi-Format Home Series Against India

With Mag Lanning as the skipper, senior players like Ellyse Perry, Alyssa Healy, and Rachel Haynes are also part of the squad. Rachael Haynes will be the vice-captain of the team. Below is the full 18-member Australian squad for the multi-format series against India.

Australia squad for India series: Meg Lanning (Captain), Rachael Haynes (Vice-Captain), Darcie Brown, Maitlan Brown, Stella Campbell, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Georgia Redmayne, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham.

Meg Lanning
Meg Lanning (Image Credit: Twitter)

Australian fast bowlers Megan Schutt and Belinda Vakarewa have opted themselves out of the series due to personal reasons. Hence, Maitlan Brown will be the prominent pace bowler for Australia women during the series against India.

Young players like 19-year-old Stella Campbell and 27-year-old wicketkeeper Georgia Redmayne have also made it to the squad for the home series against India. Therefore, the Australian squad comprises a mixture of both youth and experienced players.

India vs Australia Women
India vs Australia Women (Image Credit: Twitter)

Below is the full schedule of Australia Women vs India Women 2019 Series

1st ODI – September 19 (Sydney)

2nd ODI – September 22 (Melbourne)

3rd ODI – September 24 (Melbourne)

Only Test (Day-night) – September 30 to October 3 (Perth)

1st T20I – October 7 (Sydney)

2nd T20I – October 9 (Sydney)

3rd T20I – October 11 (Sydney)

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Aaron Finch And Steve Smith On The Track Of Successful Recoveries To Participate In The Tournament


Ellyse Perry India Women Cricket Team Meg Lanning Megan Schutt Victoria Women