IPL 2021 Auction: List Of Players Who Went Unsold

IPL 2021 Auction: List Of Players Who Went Unsold

IPL Auction
IPL Auction (Image Credits: Twitter)

A lot of dreams were fulfilled while quite a few were shattered in the IPL 2021 Auction as the eight franchised shelled out a cumulative sum of Rs 145.3 Crores to fill 57 out of the 61 available slots ahead of the 14th season of the cash-rich league.

Glenn Maxwell, as usual, broke the bank at the auction table as he was racked up by the Virat Kohli-led Royal Challengers Bangalore for a staggering amount of Rs 14.25 crore.

The biggest talking point of the day, however, was Proteas all-rounder Chris Morris, who shattered all the previously held records to become the most expensive cricketer to be bought at the auction table. Morris was bought for a mind-numbing Rs 16.25 Crore by the Rajasthan Royals.

IPL 2021 Auction, IPL 2021, Chris Morris
Chris Morris

Other notable buys in the IPL 2021 Auction were Jhye Richardson (Punjab Kings, Rs 14 Crore), Moeen Ali (Chennai Super Kings, Rs 7 Crore), Riley Meredith (Punjab Kings, Rs 8 Crore), and Krishnappa Goutham, who broke Krunal Pandya’s record to become most expensive Indian uncapped player to be bought on the auction table. Gowtham was picked by CSK for Rs 9.25 Crore.

That said, there were quite a few high-profile players, who failed to attract any bid in the IPL 2021 Auction, the most prominent being Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Mitchell McLenaghan, Glenn Phillips, Alex Carey, Evin Lewis, to name a few.

Also Read: IPL 2021 Auction: Twitter Reacts After Arjun Tendulkar Bags His Maiden IPL Contract

Here’s a complete list of players who went unsold in the IPL 2021 Auction:


  • Alex Hales (England)
  • Jason Roy (England)
  • Evin Lewis (West Indies)
  • Aaron Finch (Australia)
  • Hanuma Vihari (India)
  • Himanshu Rana (India)
  • Rahul Gahlaut (India)
  • Himmat Singh (India)
  • Vishnu Solanki (India)
  • Rovman Powell (West Indies)
  • Shaun Marsh (Australia)
  • Corey Anderson (New Zealand)
  • Devon Conway (New Zealand)
  • Darren Bravo (West Indies)
  • Martin Guptill (New Zealand)
  • Rassie van der Dussen (South Africa)
  • Siddhesh Lad (India)


  • Adil Rashid (England)
  • Sheldon Cottrell (West Indies)
  • Mitchell McLenaghan (New Zealand)
  • Rahul Sharma (India)
  • Ish Sodhi (New Zealand)
  • Qais Ahmed (Afghanistan)
  • Mujtaba Yousuf (India)
  • Ankit Rajpoot (India)
  • Kuldeep Sen (India)
  • Tushar Deshpande (India)
  • Karanveer Singh (India)
  • Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal)
  • Midhun Sudesan (India)
  • Tejas Baroka (India)
  • Oshane Thomas (West Indies)
  • Mohit Sharma (India)
  • Billy Stanlake (Australia)
  • Jason Behrendorff (Australia)
  • Naveen-ul-Haq (Afghanistan)
  • Ben Dwarshuis (Australia)
  • G. Periyasamy (India)
  • Sean Abbott (Australia)
  • Simarjeet Singh (India)
  • Reece Topley (England)


  • Atit Seth (India)
  • Ayush Badoni (India)
  • Vivek Singh (India)
  • Gurkeerat Singh (India)
  • Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)
  • Karan Sharma (India)
  • Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka)
  • T Dhillon (India)
  • Prerak Mankad (India)
  • Scott Kuggeleijn (New Zealand)
  • Wayne Parnell (South Africa)
  • Chris Green (Australia)
  • Isuru Udana (Sri Lanka)
  • George Linde (South Africa)
  • Chaitanya Bishnoi (India)
  • Ajay Dev Goud (India)
  • Jack Wildermuth (Australia)
  • Harsh Tyagi (India)
  • Gerald Coetzee (South Africa)
  • Tim David (Singapore)
  • Pratyush Singh (India)


  • Glenn Phillips (New Zealand)
  • Kusal Perera (Sri Lanka)
  • Alex Carey (Australia)
  • Kedar Devdhar (India)
  • Avi Barot (India)
  • K.L Shrijith (India)
  • Ben McDermott (Australia)
  • Matthew Wade (Australia)
  • Josh Inglis (Australia)

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.