IPL 2024 Auction: Full List Of Players Bought By CSK

Updated - 19 Dec 2023, 10:39 PM

Chennai Super Kings (CSK), CSK, IPL 2024 Auction,
Chennai Super Kings (Credits: Twitter)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) bought 6 players including two three overseas players at the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 mini-auction. The IPL 2024 auction was held on December 19 at the Coca-Cola Arena in Dubai and it saw a total of 332 cricketers go under the hammer.

The most expensive player bought by the franchise was the all-rounder Daryl Mitchell. The franchise spent INR 14 crore to acquire his services.

Ahead of the IPL 2024 auction, CSK retained 19 players in their squad. There were 5 overseas players in that list. Some key domestic players that CSK retained were MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Mukesh Choudhary, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shivam Dube, and Tushar Deshpande.

Devon Conway, Maheesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana, Mitchell Santner, and Moeen Ali were the 5 overseas players that CSK retained in their squad ahead of the IPL 2024 auction. Notably, CSK did not make any trade during the trading window. Chennai Super Kings spent Rs. 68.60 crore to retain 19 players in their squad.

CSK Released 8 Players Ahead Of IPL 2024 Auction

The men-in-yellow also parted ways with 8 players ahead of IPL 2024. Some of them also left the franchise due to different reasons. Ambati Rayudu, Ben Stokes, Dwaine Pretorius, Kyle Jamieson, Sisanda Magala, Subhranshu Senapati, Akash Singh, and Bhagath Varma were the 8 players whom CSK parted ways ahead of IPL 2024.

Rayudu has retired from all forms of cricket while Ben Stokes is unavailable for the next season. After releasing 8 players, CSK had Rs. 31.40 crore left in their salary purse. They had to buy 6 players from this amount including 3 overseas players.

Notably, releasing Ambati Rayudu and Ben Stokes added a lot of funds to CSK’s kitty. Rayudu has a contract of Rs. 4 crore while Stokes was picked for a huge amount of Rs. 16.25 crore. Kyle Jamieson added Rs. 2 crore to CSK’s salary purse after leaving the squad.

CSK Won The Title Last Season

Chennai Super Kings gave an impeccable performance last season by clinching their fifth IPL trophy. They defeated Gujarat Titans in the final to win another IPL trophy. After becoming the champions in IPL 2023, MS Dhoni & Co. has become the joint-most successful team with Mumbai Indians with 5 IPL titles.

Before the 2023 season, Chennai Super Kings won the title in IPL 2021, IPL 2018, IPL 2011, and IPL 2010 seasons. MS Dhoni, who has led CSK from the debut 2008 season, will lead the franchise for one more time in IPL 2024. Below is the full list of players bought by CSK during the IPL 2024 auction.

IPL 2024 Auction: Full List Of Players Bought By CSK

Player Nationality Type Price
Daryl Mitchell Overseas All-Rounder ₹ 14,00,00,000
Sameer Rizvi Indian Batter ₹ 8,40,00,000
Shardul Thakur Indian All-Rounder ₹ 4,00,00,000
Mustafizur Rahman Overseas Bowler ₹ 2,00,00,000
Rachin Ravindra Overseas All-Rounder ₹ 1,80,00,000
Avanish Rao Aravelly Indian Wicket-Keeper ₹ 20,00,000


Ben Stokes Chennai Super Kings (CSK) CSK IPL 2024 IPL 2024 Auction MS Dhoni