IPL History: 3 Most Exciting Matches Of IPL 2010 - CricketAddictor

IPL History: 3 Most Exciting Matches Of IPL 2010

Chennai Super Kings, IPL 2010 Winners, CSK
Chennai Super Kings (Image Credit: Twitter)
Prev1 of 3

The craze of IPL 2021 will begin in just a few days as the tournament is set to commence on April 9, 2021. Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore will lock horns in the first game of IPL 2021. The match will be played at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Capitals will clash on April 10, 2021, at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Mumbai Indians is the most successful team in the Indian Premier League with 5 IPL trophies to their name. Chennai Super Kings comes on the 2nd spot with 3 IPL trophies so far. Chennai Super Kings won their first IPL trophy in 2010 when they defeated Mumbai Indians in the final. In IPL 2010, there are few nail-biting matches that thrilled the cricket fans to a great extent. Here we relive the memories of IPL 2010 and take a look at the 3 most exciting matches of IPL 2010.

IPL History: 3 Most Exciting Matches Of IPL 2010

Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab (MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai)

Yuvraj Singh and Irfan Pathan
Yuvraj Singh and Irfan Pathan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab match in IPL 2010 was an exciting one as it ended in a tie. After batting first, Kings XI Punjab scored 136-8 in 20 overs. Yuvraj Singh scored 43 runs while Irfan Pathan contributed essential 39 runs while batting as an opener. Muttiah Muralitharan took 3 wickets while Albie Morkel grabbed 2 wickets in the match.

Batting second, CSK opener Parthiv Patel played a great knock of 57 runs and Matthew Hayden scored 33. However, other batsmen lost their wickets cheaply. On the final ball of Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin needed to score 1 run to win the match. However, the CSK spinner was caught by Mohammad Kaif and the match ended in a tie with CSK scoring 136-7.

In the super over, CSK lost Matthew Hayden and Suresh Raina and scored 9-2. Muttiah Muralitharan bowled the super over for CSK and was hit for a six on the very first ball by Mahela Jayawardene. On the 2nd ball, Muralitharan dismissed Mahela with a catch at long-on. Kings XI Punjab needed 4 runs off 4 balls while CSK needed a wicket to win the match. On the 3rd ball, Yuvraj Singh hit a four to win the match for Punjab Kings.

Prev1 of 3