Mayank Agarwal
Mayank Agarwal. (Photo: BCCI)

Last Update on: September 27th, 2022 at 10:34 pm

India National Cricket Team opener Mayank Agarwal, U-19 World Cup winning captain Yash Dhull and star middle-order batter Sarfaraz Khan have been included in the Rest of India squad for the upcoming Irani Cup, as per a report in ESPNcricinfo.

The Irani Cup, which is played between the Ranji Trophy winners and the Rest of India, will see the one-off match between the Rest of India and 2019-20 Ranji Trophy champions Saurashtra in Rajkot from October 1-5. Notably, the match between Saurashtra and the Rest of India was postponed due to Covid-19 in 2020.

ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

Yash Dhull
Photo Credit: (PTI)

Meanwhile, India U-19 World Cup-winning captain Yash Dhull, who scored a ton on debut in both the Ranji Trophy and Duleep Trophy, will have an opportunity to strengthen his red-ball credentials at the Irani Cup. The 19-year-old has played 5 First-class games and has scored 770 runs at an average of 110.00, including 4 centuries and one fifty. He will be fighting for a slot in the middle-order in the game against Saurashtra.

Irani Cup 2022: Hanuma Vihari To Lead Rest Of India

Irani Cup
Hanuma Vihari. Photo-Getty

India National Cricket Team middle-order batter Hanuma Vihari will be leading the Rest of India in the upcoming Irani Cup. The Rest of India squad for the Irani Cup comprises four openers, including Mayank Agarwal, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Abhimanyu Easwaran and Priyank Panchal, as per a report in ESPNcricinfo.

Young Yashasvi Jaiswal has had a sensational start to his first-class career as he became the joint-fastest Indian to score 1000 runs in the format. Overall, he has played 7 First-class games and has scored 1015 runs at an average of 84.58, including five tons and a half-century.

Talking about the bowling unit, the pace battery consists of Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar, Kuldeep Sen and Arzan Nagwaswalla while Jayant Yadav and Saurabh Kumar are the two spinners.

Umran Malik (Image Credits: Twitter)
Umran Malik (Image Credits: Twitter)

Also, former Saurashtra captain Sitanshu Kotak, who is currently part of VVS Laxman’s larger coaching group at NCA, will be the coach of the Rest of India squad.

Rest Of India Squad:

Abhimanyu Easwaran, Priyank Panchal, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari (captain), Sarfaraz Khan, Yashaswi Jaiswal, Yash Dhull, KS Bharat, Upendra Yadav (wicketkeepers), Kuldeep Sen, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar, Arzan Nagwaswalla, Jayant Yadav, Saurabh Kumar

Also Read: IND vs SA: Sanju Samson To Be Shikhar Dhawan’s Deputy In South Africa ODIs – Reports

Get All Cricket match prediction and fantasy Tips – CLICK HERE

Cricket Match Prediction | T20 World Cup Match Prediction | Today Match Fantasy Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket News and Updates | Cricket Live Score


Sonanchal GautamAssistant Content Manager

Sonanchal Gautam is the Assistant Content Manager at Cricketaddictor. He is a professional Wrestling and Hip-hop enthusiast.