South Africa
South Africa (Image Credit: Twitter)

The South African cricket board (CSA) have announced the squad for the upcoming ODIs series against the Netherlands later this month and it sees six top players being rested after South Africa failed to make it into the semis of the T20 World Cup 2021. Keshav Maharaj has been named the captain of the side for this assignment.

South Africa will be touring the Netherlands for the three-match ODI series in November which is their first visit to the European country which played in the qualifying round of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. The three ODIs are part of the World Cup Super League, where both teams are in need of points. The Netherlands are in last place on the table, with 20 points from two wins over Ireland.

South Africa, England
South Africa vs England. (Photo: Twitter)

South Africa sits in ninth place, having dropped points in Ireland, but they could climb to as high as No. 2 with a 3-0 sweep.

Quinton De Kock, Temba Bavuma Amongst 6 Rested; Wayne Parnell Returns To South Africa Fold  

The 16-member South African ODI squad sees six main players being rested for these three one-day matches. These players include regular white-ball captain Temba Bavuma and keeper-opener Quinton de Kock. Keshav Maharaj has been named captain of the Proteas team.

Keshav Maharaj
Keshav Maharaj, Credits: Twitter

South Africa was placed in group 1 of the Super 12s stage of the ICC event along with Australia, England, West Indies, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh. Despite winning four out of their five matches in the league stage, including handing England their only loss in the Super 12s stage, Temba Bavuma’s men failed to reach the semi-finals stage due to poor net run rate.

Apart from Bavuma and De Kock, CSA also gave rest to batter Rassie van der Dussen and fast bowling combo of Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje. Rabada and Nortje deserved the rest having come off a tiring second half of the IPL 2021 in UAE and then the T20 World Cup.

Wayne Parnell. Photo- Twitter
Wayne Parnell. Photo- Twitter

The squad also saw the return of left-arm pacer Wayne Parnell who last played for South Africa in 2017. Zubayr Hamza and Ryan Rickelton are in line for their ODI debuts, while Khaya Zondo, Daryn Dupavillon, and Sisanda Magala have all been recalled after missing the series against Sri Lanka.

“We do not take this historic tour of the Netherlands to our shores lightly.We are keen to showcase the talent that South Africa has and to give opportunities to players who have been patient for a long time and are raring to go,” CSA’s convener of selectors Victor Mpitsang said.

South Africa squad for the Netherland ODIs:

Keshav Maharaj (capt), Daryn Dupavillon, Zubayr Hamza, Reeza Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Wayne Parnell, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams, Khaya Zondo.

Also Read: LPL 2021: Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews Miss Out From Drafts; Chris Gayle, Faf du Plessis To Feature As Overseas Stars