Lanka Premier League (LPL),
Lanka Premier League (LPL).

The schedule for the Lanka premier league 2021 edition has been announced by Sri Lanka cricket and the tournament starts off on the 5th of December with the match between Galle and Jaffna. The Lanka premier league 2021 was earlier scheduled to take place in the month of July- August 2021.

Due to the tight international schedule and CPL happening at the same time, a lot of players would have become unavailable, and the tournament was postponed to take place any time after the T20 Worldcup 2021. The schedule has now been announced and the tournament is expected to gain a lot of fans.

Lanka Premier League
Irfan Pathan in Lanka Premier League. (Photo: Twitter)

Lanka Premier League Divided Into Two Rounds

The Lanka premier league has been divided into two rounds with the first round containing 20 games and all the games in the round will be played at the R, Premadasa stadium. The five teams will compete against each other and the next four games will take place at the Mahinda Rajapaksha Stadium at Colombo.

There has been a change in the playoffs as now the structure is proposed more like an IPL way with qualifier and eliminator taking place. The top two teams from the points table will compete in qualifier 1 while 3 and 4 will compete in the eliminator. The winner of qualifier 1 advances to the finals while the loser will compete against the winner of the eliminator in qualifier 2. The winner of qualifier 1 and qualifier 2 will make it to the finals.

LPL 2020
Jaffna Stallions Thisara Perera (2R) celebrates after dismissing Dambulla Viiking’s Lahiru Madushanka during the Lanka Premier League (LPL) cricket match between the Dambulla Viiking and Jaffna Stallionsat at the Suriyawewa Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota on November 30, 2020. (Photo by STR / AFP) (Photo by STR/AFP via Getty Images)

Lanka Premier League Schedule

Date 3.00 pm (Day Match) 7.30 pm (Night Match) VENUE
December 3, 2021 Practice
December 4, 2021 Practice
December 5, 2021 OPENING CEREMONY Galle Jaffna R. Premadasa
December 6, 2021 Dambulla Kandy Colombo Galle R. Premadasa
December 7, 2021 Jaffna Dambulla Kandy Galle R. Premadasa
December 8, 2021 Colombo Dambulla Kandy Jaffna R. Premadasa
December 9, 2021 Rest & Practice
December 10, 2021 Dambulla Galle Jaffna Colombo R. Premadasa
December 11, 2021 Galle Kandy Colombo Dambulla R. Premadasa
December 12, 2021 Jaffna Kandy Galle Colombo R. Premadasa
December 13, 2021 Galle Dambulla R. Premadasa
December 14, 2021 Kandy Colombo Dambulla Jaffna R. Premadasa
December 15, 2021 Rest & Practice
December 16, 2021 Colombo Jaffna Kandy Dambulla R. Premadasa
December 17, 2021 Jaffna Galle Colombo Kandy R. Premadasa
December 18, 2021 Travel to Hambantota
December 19, 2021 Rest & Practice
December 20, 2021 Eliminator (3 vs 4) Qualifier 1 (1 vs 2) Hambantota
December 21, 2021 Qualifier 2 (looser QF1 vs won E ) Hambantota
December 22, 2021 Rest & Practice
December 23, 2021 Final Hambantota
December 24, 2021 Final (Reserve Day) Hambantota
Lanka Premier League
Jaffna Stallions defeated Galle Gladiators to win the inaugural Lanka Premier League 2020 title. (Image credit: Twitter)

Also Read – Lanka Premier League 2021 Attains Big Boost As 677 Players Register For Players’ Draft