Cricket, Bat, Ball,
Cricket. (Photo: Twitter)

Several former international cricketers, including those from India, South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, and England, are reported to have agreed to play in ‘Legends Cricket League’, a new T20 tournament to be launched soon and to be held in the UAE next year.

The organisers of the event on Friday stated that few marquee stars and legends of the game will be in action once gain to entertain the fans.

The organisers didn’t reveal the names and details of the players in talks or the ones who have signed up for the league, however, they claimed that the list includes some top former internationals from various countries.

Dubai International Cricket Stadium, UAE
Dubai International Cricket Stadium, UAE (Image Credit: Twitter)

The statement released by the organisers said the league will be played twice a year with different teams such as once for India, another for Asia, and another for the rest of the world.

“The League would be played twice every year. In the first season, the league would be played in Tri-series format, with Indian team, Asian Team and a Rest of the World Team playing against each other. This would mean six league stage matches before the final match,” the press release said.

Vivek Khushalani, co-founder and promoter of the league,  expressed his excitement over this new addition to the T20 league world in the UAE.

“The brainstorming sessions gave us huge excitement, the thought of seeing Legends playing for team India once again gave a different high.

“As sports enthusiasts, we have spent our lives watching them play and win matches for India and with LLC, billions of fans can relive those dreams,” Khushalani said.

The UAE over the years have hosted many leagues such as the IPL, PSL, Adu Dhabi T10 League, Afghanistan Premier League (APL), etc. This year, the UAE, has been made the backup host country by the BCCI. The second half of the IPL 2021 will be played out in the UAE before the T20 World Cup, which had been shifted out of India due to covid-19 concerns.

Yuvraj Singh posts photo with victorious India Legends
Yuvraj Singh posts photo with victorious India Legends team (Photo- Instagram)

Speaking of the legendary cricketers returning to the field, India hosted the Road Safety World Series T20 2020-21 split across 2020 and 2021 due to the pandemic. A plethora of iconic names featured in the tournament, which Sachin Tendulkar-led India Legends won.

Also Read: Dilip Vengsarkar Hopes Virat Kohli Signs Off As India’s T20I Captain On A High Note With A T20 Cricket World Cup Win