Jason Holder, Nicholas Pooran, West Indies
PC: AFP/Getty

Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, and Nicholas Pooran have declined the Cricket West Indies Central Contracts for the year 2023-2024. The governing body on Sunday (19th December) announced the Men’s and Women’s contracts for the upcoming season based on performances during the 2022-2023 season. 

Although Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, and Nicholas Pooran declined the contract, they assured CWI that they would be available for the T20Is during the year. In place of them, there were new entrants in the contracts as well. 

Gudakesh Motie, Keacy Carty, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, and Alick Athanaze were included in the Cricket West Indies Central Contract list for the year 2023-2024. Apart from them, Zaida James and Sheneta Grimmond were new entrants in women’s contracts for CWI. 

West Indies Men’s Lead Selector Dr. Desmond Haynes opened up about the contracts, saying that they have offered contracts to those who they expected to feature in T20 World Cup 2024. Speaking about the same, he said: 

“With a busy year of cricket ahead, in all three formats, we have held several detailed discussions with the two Head Coaches on the brand of cricket they want to play. We are very clear in the direction we want to go. 

Read More  Not CSK or Mumbai Indians!! Aakash Chopra names the deadliest spin attack in IPL 2024

“The players who have been offered contracts are among those who we expect to feature, as we look to build towards challenging for the top spot when we host and compete in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 on home soil. We also have away Test Series in Australia and England – these are two major assignments whilst in the 50-over format we look to build a nucleus of players aimed towards the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2027.” 

Cricket West Indies Contracted Players For The Upcoming Season 

Here are CWI Men’s contracted players 

1.     Alick Athanaze
2.    Kraigg Brathwaite
3.    Keacy Carty
4.    Tagenarine Chanderpaul
5.    Joshua Da Silva
6.    Shai Hope
7.    Akeal Hosein
8.    Alzarri Joseph
9.    Brandon King
10.  Gudakesh Motie
11.    Rovman Powell
12.   Kemar Roach
13.   Jayden Seales
14.  Romario Shepherd 

Here are CWI women’s contracted players 

1. Aaliyah Alleyne
2.   Shemaine Campbelle
3.   Shamilia Connell
4.   Afy Fletcher
5.   Cherry-Ann Fraser
6.   Shabika Gajnabi
7.   Jannillea Glasgow
8.   Sheneta Grimmond
9.   Chinelle Henry
10. Zaida James
11.   Mandy Mangru
12.  Hayley Matthews
13.  Karishma Ramharack
14. Stafanie Taylor
15. Rashada Williams

Read More  BAN vs SL Live Streaming In India– When and Where To Watch Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka Live In India? 1st T20I, 2024

Ankitjit is an author at Cricketaddictor. He has been working with the organization since April 2023 and he has written more than 2000 articles for the website.