Najam Sethi
Najam Sethi. Pic Credits: Twitter.

Former cricket administrator Najam Sethi will take over as PCB chief, replacing Ramiz Raja. As per Pakistan’s leading newspaper Dawn, Pakistan Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif has appointed a 14-member management committee to oversee the board’s operations, and Sethi will serve as its chairman. The cricket board elections will take place during the next four months.

Shahbaz Sharif, the prime minister of Pakistan, proposed a management committee with 14 members, and Sethi will serve as its chairman.

IPL 2023 | India tour of Bangladesh 2022 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Sri Lanka tour of 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023

Ramiz Raja
PCB Chairman Ramiz Raja

The Pakistan government fired Raja late Wednesday after the team was humiliated 3-0 by England in the Test series.

The notification, issued by Pakistan Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif, must be approved by the federal cabinet, which is merely a formality.

IPL 2023 Auction | IND vs BAN 2022 | India vs India Bangladesh 2022 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023

Ramiz Raja
PCB president Ramiz Raja. Credits: PCB

The developments on Wednesday validated suspicions that Sharif, the PCB’s patron-in-chief, had opted to install Najam Sethi as the country’s cricket body’s next chairman.

“The famine in cricket will come to an end”: Najam Sethi

In response to the news, Najam Sethi took to Twitter on Wednesday and stated, “The cricket regime headed by Ramiz Raja @iramizraja is no more. The 2014 PCB constitution stands restored. The Management Committee will work tirelessly to revive first-class cricket. Thousands of cricketers will be employed again. The famine in cricket will come to an end.”

Aized Syed, a former PCB director of NHPC, Shahid Khan Afridi, Shafqat Rana, Sana Mir, a former captain of the Pakistan women’s team, Tanvir Ahmed, a former president of the Larkana Region, Advocate Supreme Court Mustafa Ramday, and Chaudhry Arif Saeed (CEO Service Industries). are among the 14 members of the organization.

Najam Sethi PCB. Photo- Getty
Najam Sethi PCB. Photo- Getty

The announcement of a PCB leadership transition coincided with Pakistan’s home Test series loss to England. On Tuesday, the Three Lions swept the series in Pakistan with an eight-wicket victory in the third and final Test. This was Pakistan’s first-ever 3-0 defeat in a home three-test series.

Ramiz Raja
PCB meeting headed by chairman Ramiz Raja. Credits: PCB

Ramiz Raja, who was elected to a three-year term in September of last year, has left office prematurely. It marks the conclusion of his second spell with the PCB, following his tenure as CEO from 2003 to 2004.

Also Read: IND vs BAN: “A Long Wait Over For Unadkat”: Twitter Reacts To Jaydev Unadkat Returns To India’s Playing XI After 12 Years

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah