Pakistan Announce 20-Member Squad For Test Series Against Bangladesh
Pakistan Announce 20-Member Squad For Test Series Against Bangladesh

Last Update on: November 15th, 2021 at 07:46 pm

Pakistan has announced its squad for their upcoming 2-match Test series against Bangladesh. The first Test will start in Chittagong on November 26 followed by the second in Dhaka on December 4.

The 20-man squad consists of the returning Imam-ul-Haq, batsman Kamran Ghulam, off-spinner Bilal Asif who are set to replace Haris Rauf, Yasir Shah, Imran Butt, and Shahnawaz Dahani from their earlier tour of West Indies in July-August.

We have selected the squad following discussions with the team management after taking into consideration the opposition’s potential make-up and the conditions in which the Tests will be played. As we already have four frontline fast bowlers, we have allowed Haris Rauf and Shahnawaz Dahani to return to Pakistan after the T20Is so that they can play in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy and prepare for Australia Tests,” Pakistan chief selector Muhammad Wasim said.

Yasir Shah, Pakistan
Yasir Shah was left out of the squad due to an injury. Image-Twitter

Yasir sustained a thumb injury which has ruled him out of the series. In his stead, Bilal, who has taken 16 wickets in five Tests, has been brought into the squad. As for Imam, he has been in excellent form in the ongoing Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, having amassed 488 runs in four matches.

An in-form left-handed Imam-ul-Haq has replaced Imran Butt, who managed to score at 17.8 in 10 Test innings, but he has a chance to continue to play and perform in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy so that he can force his way back in the side. Bangladesh are a strong side in their backyard but we have the resources, talent, and experience to perform strongly and then carry the momentum into the Australia Tests, which will be part of the ICC World Test Championship,” Wasim further mentioned.

Pakistan cricket team

Pakistan squad for Bangladesh Test series:

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Bilal Asif, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Fawad Alam, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Zahid Mahmood.

Also Read – David Warner Would Definitely Be Right At The Top Of People Wanted By The Two New IPL Teams – Sunil Gavaskar