Pakistan Cricket Team
Photo Credit: (PTI)

Last Update on: January 9th, 2023 at 04:00 pm

Three separate captains are likely to lead the Pakistan cricket team in the three forms, therefore a suggestion to shift the fortunes of the national squad is being considered.

According to sources, Babar Azam will continue to captain the Twenty20 squad but will likely relinquish command of the other two formats.

IPL 2023 | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023

Babar Azam
Babar Azam (Image Credits: Twitter)

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has fired Ramiz Raja as chairman, and Najaf Sethi has taken his place. Shahid Afridi was also named interim chief selector for the time being.

And, despite all of the off-field adjustments, it appears that the influence of fresh air will be seen within 22 yards. According to sources, Pakistan is considering using a new captain in each format.

IPL 2023 | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Babar Azam PC
Photo Credit: (Twitter/PCB)

Pakistan’s current captain, Babar Azam, leads the team in all formats. However, there are reports that this may alter shortly, and that the desired Pakistani batter may have to give up a portion of his captaincy duty.

Sarfaraz Ahmed may get another stint as Pakistan’s leader in Tests:

Babar Azam will only continue in his role as captain during T20Is, according to the Pakistani news agency Express-News. According to rumors, Sarfaraz Ahmed may return to lead Pakistan in tests while Shan Masood may assume the ODI captaincy.

Sarfaraz Ahmed
Sarfaraz Ahmed (PC-AP)

In the Test series against New Zealand, Sarfaraz played Test cricket for the first time in a long time and was the best Pakistani player. The wicketkeeper-batter won Player of the Series for his 335 runs in two matches. He has led Pakistan in 13 Test matches so far, winning 4 of them.

The management committee of the PCB recognizes the workload burden on Babar Azam, which is why they are considering naming separate captains for the three formats.

Also Read: IND vs SL: “India Might Outplay Sri Lanka In The Upcoming ODI Series”: Aakash Chopra

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah