PSL 2024
Photo Credit: (Twitter/PCB)

PSL 2024 which is the ninth season of the league will be hosted across four cities in the country of Pakistan as per reports. The match will be hosted in Lahore, Karachi, Rawalpindi, and Multan as per the PCB

The tournament is expected to be played between February 18 and March 19 as per the proposed schedule. However, there are a few logistical problems to be addressed such as suitability of the timing, citing cold weather and fog. 

There are also thoughts over Karachi being considered as the venue for the final. Players and the franchises are worried about potential low crowd attendance impacting ticket revenue. Multan Sultans meanwhile have proposed Multan as the venue for the final confident of drawing fans to the stadium. 

PSL 2024: PCB To Address Logistical Problems

In another issue, the franchisor Peshawar Zalmi is willing to play its home games in Peshawar saying that the construction work around the stadium will be finished in two months. However, the PCB is yet to decide on the same. 

The PCB is willing to release the schedule on December 13, the day when the PSL draft will be held. There is another major concern which is staging double-headers in March which is the Ramadan month. 

Read More  AUS vs NZ Today Match Prediction- 1st Test, Who Will Win Today’s Test Match? 2024

There were also discussions on shifting the PSL 2024 to the UAE due to the national elections in the country. However, the PCB is confident of hosting the tournament within the country. 

The trades across franchises have already started ahead of the draft. Karachi Kings have roped in Pakistan’s new Test captain Shan Masood ahead of the upcoming ninth season of the Pakistan Super League. Naseem Shah has moved to Islamabad United from Quetta Gladiators in another major trade. 

485 international players from 22 nations have signed up for the draft. Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shadab Khan, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, and Shoaib Malik have been retained by their respective franchises. Barring Multan Sultans, every other franchise has retained a maximum of 8 players allowed to be retained. 

 Also Read: “How Many People Talk About Yuvraj Singh?” Gautam Gambhir’s Fresh Dig At MS Dhoni

Anshuman Roy is an author at Cricketaddictor. He has been working with the organization since January 2022 and he has written more than 5000 articles for the website.