Rohit Sharma And Rahul Dravid Must Be Questioned By BCCI For Poor Decision-Making In WTC Final 2023: Sunil Gavaskar

Updated - 17 Jul 2023, 01:34 PM

Sunil Gavaskar
Sunil Gavaskar (Image Credit: Twitter)

Former India opener Sunil Gavaskar criticized Team India’s poor decisions during ICC WTC final 2023 clash against Australia. Sunil Gavaskar also feels that the board and selectors should ask questions to coach Rahul Dravid and captain Rohit Sharma for their wrong decisions in the match.

Sunil Gavaskar is not happy with two major calls that Team India took in the match. One was opting to field first after winning the toss. The second was not bowling bouncers to Travis Head from the start. Travis Head slammed 163 runs in WTC final 2023 to turn the game in Australia’s favor in 1st innings.

Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023

Sunil Gavaskar Slams India’s Poor Decisions In WTC Final 2023

While speaking at The Indian Express Idea Exchange event, former India skipper Sunil Gavaskar talked about India’s defeat in the ICC World Test Championship 2023 final. The cricketer-turned-commentator feels that selectors and the board should ask questions to the Indian captain and coach for wrong calls in the epic Test clash.

“The selectors and board should be asking questions, ‘Why did you field first (at WTC final)?. Okay, it was explained at the toss that it was overcast and all. The question after that should be, you didn’t know about Travis Head’s weakness against the short ball?”, Sunil Gavaskar said.

IND vs AUS 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023 | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC World Cup 2023

Speaking on Travis Head’s weakness with bouncers, Sunil Gavaskar questioned why Team India didn’t bowl him bouncers from the start.

“Why was the bouncer employed only when he had scored 80 runs. You know, the moment Head came into the bat, in the commentary box, we had Ricky Ponting saying, ‘Bounce him, bounce him.’ Everyone knew about it but we didn’t try.

Mind you, if I was in the commentary box, I would never tell anyone about an India player’s weakness. This is where the selection committee should be calling both captain and coach and asking, ‘Hello, what happened?’,” the 74-year-old further said.

Also Read: IND vs WI: Neither Virat Kohli Nor Rohit Sharma, No One Has Come: Sunil Gavaskar Thrashes Current And Former Indian Captain

Sunil Gavaskar also added that the captain knows that he will not be removed even after the team wins or loses. According to little master, these things are happening in Indian cricket since 2011.

“That kind of thing doesn’t happen. Whether you win or lose, the captain knows that he is going to be there. This has not been a recent case, mind you. This has been happening since 2011. There have been results where we have been wiped out in the series 0-4, 0-4 but the captain hasn’t changed,” Gavaskar concluded.

Also Read: IND vs WI: “The Truth Is The Main Guys Do Not Want To Go Early” – Sunil Gavaskar Lashes Out At Senior Players Over Workload Issues

India lost ICC WTC final 2023 to Australia by 209 runs. Australia outplayed the Indian team in both bowling and batting departments. Asked to bat first, the Aussies shattered 469-10 with centuries by Steve Smith (121) and Travis Head (163). Later, they bundled out India for just 296, taking a 173-run lead.

Also Read: IND vs WI: Sunil Gavaskar Fumes At Rahul Dravid, Vikram Rathour, Paras Mhambrey Following India’s Failures

In the 2nd innings, Australia declared their batting at 270-8, setting a 444-run target for India. Rohit Sharma & Co. crumbled at 234 all-out, losing the match and WTC 2023 trophy. For India, Ajinkya Rahane was the only batter to score a fifty in the match- an 89-run knock in 1st innings.

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah


ICC World Test Championship Final India National Cricket Team Rahul Dravid Rohit Sharma Sunil Gavaskar WTC Final 2023