Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad. (Photo: IPL)

Indian batter Ruturaj Gaikwad has been named the skipper of the 20-member squad of Maharashtra cricket team for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy. Rahul Tripathi will be Ruturaj’s deputy for the tournament.

Ruturaj also led Maharashtra in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021 where he posted the scores of 51, 80, 81, 3 and 44 in the five innings of the group stage.

Ruturaj Gaikwad to lead Maharashtra in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad. Credits: IPL

However, the 24-year-old missed the knockout stage SMAT after being called for India’s T20I series against New Zealand but didn’t play in a single game.

Ruturaj had an unforgettable season with Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2021. He was one of the architects of the Yellow Army in their fourth IPL title win.

In the final match against Kolkata Knight Riders, Ruturaj surpassed Punjab Kings skipper KL Rahul’s tally of 626 runs and became the youngest batter to clinch the orange cap in the tournament history.

Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad. Credits: IPL

Ruturaj scored 635 runs from 16 innings at an impressive strike rate of 136.26 with the help of four 50-plus scores and a whirlwind century against Rajasthan Royals.

Ruturaj Gaikwad retained by CSK for IPL 2022

The Maharashtra batter was also retained by CSK for IPL 2022 along with veteran skipper MS Dhoni, all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja and Moeen Ali.

Maharashtra have been paired with Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Kerala, Uttarakhand and Chandigarh in Elite Group D to be played in Rajkot. They play their first match against Madhya Pradesh on Wednesday (December 8).

Maharashtra’s squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy: Ruturaj Gaikwad (capt.), Rahul Tripathi (vice-capt.), Yash Nahar, Naushad Shaikh, Azim Kazi, Ankeet Bawane, Shamshuzama Kazi, Mukesh Choudhary, Pradeep Dadhe, Manoj Ingale, Ashay Palkar, Divyang Hinganekar, Jagdish Zope, Swapnil Fulpagar, Avdhoot Dandekar, Taranjit Singh Dhillon, Siddhesh Veer, Yash Kshirsagar, Pavan Shah, Dhanraj Pardeshi.

Also Read: MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, And Moeen Ali Retained By Chennai Super Kings (CSK) For IPL 2022