Ravichandran Ashwin Was Kept Away from Cricket To Avoid Being Banned by ICC - Saeed Ajmal Makes Controversial Statement On India's Prominent Spinner

Ravichandran Ashwin Was Kept Away from Cricket To Avoid Being Banned by ICC – Saeed Ajmal Makes Controversial Statement On India’s Prominent Spinner

Ravichandran Ashwin
Ravichandran Ashwin (Image Credit: Twitter)

Former Pakistan Spinner Saeed Ajmal makes sensational claims regarding premier India off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin.

Ajmal, taking shots at the BCCI and the ICC, says that Ashwin was deliberately kept away from the game for some time lest getting banned by the ICC for illegal bowling action.

Ajmal, who enjoyed a terrific start to his Test career, on a number of times was reported by the ICC for illegal bowling action. He blasts the ICC saying that the governing body had no issues while going after a Pakistani bowler, but couldn’t do it against any bowler representing the BCCI.

Saeed Ajmal
Ajmal. (Credits: Web)

“You changed all these rules and regulations without asking anyone. I was playing cricket for the last eight years. All those rules were for me. That’s it. During that period, Ashwin was out from cricket for six months. Why is that? So you can work on him and your bowler doesn’t get banned. They don’t care if a Pakistan bowler gets banned. They only care about money,” Saeed Ajmal was quoted as saying by Cricwick.

Saeed Ajmal speaks on controversial DRS against Sachin Tendulkar in 2011 World Cup semi-final

Ajmal further spoke about the controversial DRS involving batting legend Sachin Tendulkar during the India-Pakistan 2011 World Cup semi-final in Mohali. Tendulkar was given out lbw by the on-field off the bowling of Saeed Ajmal. The master reviewed it, and the ball was shown projected to miss the leg stump;  Tendulkar went on to score a match-winning 85.

However, there were several conspiracy theories with many online videos claiming or showing that the ball to be hitting the stumps. Ajmal, who snapped over 400 international wickets, opines that the ball was crashing into the wickets, and that Tendulkar should have been given out.
Sachin Tendulkar, Saeed Ajmal
Sachin Tendulkar was adjudged LBW to Ajmal but was reprieved by the DRS referral. Image-AP
“The umpire who gave Tendulkar out, he would be ready to give the statement that he got it right. And the meaning is pretty clear. The DRS can be checked manually. You can alter it at any stage [sic].
“I don’t know about that but even if I see it now and any umpire sees that, he will think that this will go on to hit the stumps. But that missed the stumps. Thousands of people have questioned me this, and I don’t know the answer,” the 43-year-old stated.