Shakib al Hasan Rested From All Forms Of Cricket Until April 30th

Shakib Al Hasan (Image Credit: Twitter)
Shakib Al Hasan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Bangladesh’s premier all-rounder Shakib al Hasan has been rested by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) after he asked for a break, the BCB cricket operations chairman Jalal Yunus confirmed to the media outlets on Wednesday.

The Bangla squad is set to tour South Africa for an ODI series followed by a 2-match Test series. It wasn’t confirmed whether he could actually be available for the series. It has now been confirmed that he will be taking a break till April 30 this year.

He called me and said ‘I am not mentally and physically fit to play’ and wanted to skip the South Africa series and we have decided to give him rest till April 30th from all forms of cricket,” Jalal informed in a press conference on Wednesday.

Shakib Al Hasan (Image Credit: Twitter)
Shakib Al Hasan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Shakib had stated on Saturday that he was not feeling well mentally or physically, and a break would serve him best. Additionally, he will be missing the Dhaka Premier League as well which starts from March 15 and ends before Shakib’s return.

Notably, Jalal didn’t confirm whether Shakib is still part of Bangladesh’s Test plans considering the future. The all-rounder wasn’t picked by any franchise in the IPL 2022 mega auction as well.

He just let us know that he wanted to skip the whole of South Africa series since he still doesn’t feel mentally and physically fit,” Jalal added.

Shakib Al Hasan
Shakib Al Hasan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Meanwhile, Mominul Haque will be leading the Test side which sees the return of veteran opener, Tamim Iqbal. The squad is buzzing with a mixture of youth and experience and they will be hoping to cause an upset in South Africa.

Bangladesh Test squad for SA series:

Mominul Haque (c), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib al Hasan, Liton Das, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Taijul Islam, Mehidy Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Shohidul Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Shadman Islam, Nurul Hasan.

Bangladesh ODI squad for SA series:

Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Liton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hassan, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Syed Khaled Ahmed.

Also Read – We’d Be Very Open To Hosting India And Pakistan In Australia For A Tri-Series – CA Chief Nick Hockley

Related Posts