SRH Playing 11 vs Mumbai Indians- IPL 2024, Match 55

Updated - 09 May 2024, 03:09 PM

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
Sunrisers Hyderabad Playing 11 vs MI Photo Credit: (IPL)

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) takes on Mumbai Indians in the reverse fixture on Monday, May 6 from 7.30 IST. This is their 11th campaign match and the penultimate at the Wankhede stadium. 

SRH are currently placed fourth on the points and a win against MI will take the side to 14 points and on level with KKR. Hyderabad have been a dominant side in the first half of the season. 

Back-to-back losses to CSK and RCB took some sting out of the side but a close win against RR have brought back the side as a whole. The last win will give them huge confidence heading into this game. 

Pat Cummins as the SRH skipper has made some bold moves throughout the season and some of them paid off. While they have been very dominant batting first, chasing has been their Achilles Heel this season. They lost their last two games chasing. 

Also Read: PBKS vs CSK: Shikhar Dhawan ruled out of IPL 2024? Sunil Joshi provides a colossal update

However, they scored 277 against MI, the last time they played the opposition. That huge win against MI will give them huge confidence as well. Speaking about the playing XI, it will be interesting to see if they can fit Glenn Phillips into the XI. Also, the lack of quality spinners has been a concern.

SRH Playing 11 vs Mumbai Indians- IPL 2024, Match 55

Travis Head 

Head will open the batting for SRH. He scored 58 off 44 balls against RR which was an unusual innings for him. It was his innings that helped SRH beach 200 in the end. He has scored 396 runs this season so far. 

Abhishek Sharma

The southpaw will open the batting with Head. He has complemented the Australian opener very well this season. He has scored 315 runs this season so far. 

Rahul Tripathi / Washington Sundar 

The move to include Anmolpreet Singh has not paid off in the last two games for SRH. They can include either Sundar or Tripathi in the XI. The inclusion of Sundar gives them a quality spin option. 

Heinrich Klaasen

Klaasesn should bat at four. So far, he has scored 337 runs this season in 10 games at a strike rate of 189.33. He scored 40 off 19 balls against RR. 

Nitish Reddy 

Reddy should bat at five. He scored an unbeaten 76 off 42 balls and played his part in taking SRH to 201. He has scored 219 runs in just six innings at a strike rate of over 150.

Glenn Phillips 

Phillips can replace Aiden Markram in the XI. SRH can think about giving him a few games and using him as a finisher in the lineup. He is also a brilliant fielder to boost. Phillips also gives them a spin option. 

Abdul Samad

Samad can slot in at seven. He has got his opportunities with the bat few and far between. However, he has been given a longer run by his franchise. So far, he has scored 148 runs this season at a strike rate of 187.34. 

Pat Cummins (C)

Skipper Pat Cummins might bat at eight. He too has not got too many chances with the bat but has picked up 12 wickets this season so far and went past 50 IPL wickets this season.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

The veteran Indian pacer can slot in at nine. He defended 13 off the final over to take SRh to victory. He has taken 8 wickets from seven games so far. 

T Natarajan 

Natarajan will slot in at 10. He is the second-highest wicket-taker this season so far with 15 wickets in 8 matches. The left-arm pacer took two for 35 in the last game. 

Mayank Markande 

Markande concludes the likely SRH XI for their match against MI. He is the specialist leg spinner in the side and did not play the last game. The leggie has picked up 8 wickets from seven games. 

Impact Sub- Jaydev Unadkat /Shahbaz Ahmed

Unadkat is expected to be the Impact sub for SRH. He was used in the same role in the last match as well where he bowled two overs for 23 runs. The Bengal all-rounder Shahbaz Ahmed can be looked at as the other option.

Also Read: PSL 2025 dates to clash with IPL in a major concern for Pakistan Super League team owners

Read More: 


MI vs SRH Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai Indians IPL