SRH vs PBKS: Abhishek Sharma shatters Virat Kohli's historic IPL record to top the elite list

Updated - 19 May 2024, 07:41 PM

Abhishek Sharma-Travis Head
Abhishek Sharma breaks Virat Kohli's record od most sixes in a season Photo Credit: (IPL)

SRH opener Abhishek Sharma broke Virat Kohli's record of most sixes in a season during his knock against Punjab Kings in SRH's final league game in Hyderabad on Sunday. 

The Kings scored 214/5 in their 20 overs with the ri top-order getting runs. Atharva Taide (46), Prabhsimran Singh (71) and Rilee Rossouw (49) were the chief contributors. Jitesh Sharma who is leading PBKS in this game scored a brilliant cameo of 32 off 15 balls. 

SRH lost the wicket of Travis Head off the very first ball in the chase. However, his opening partner Abhishek Sharam kept the charge on for the Sunrisers. During his unbeaten knock of 50-plus, he went past Virat Kohli's tally of 38 sixes in a season, which was the previous best. Sharma went past that. He is currently on 39 sixes and counting in his unbeaten knock. 

Also Read: 'No one has been better than Yuvraj Singh and no one still is' - Gautam Gambhir takes indirect dig at Virat Kohli

Abhishek Sharma Surpasses Virat Kohli In Elite List

Most Sixes in an IPL Season (Indians)

39 - Abhishek Sharma (2024)*
38 - Virat Kohli (2016)
37 - Rishabh Pant (2018)
37 - Virat Kohli (2024)
35 - Shivam Dube (2023)
34 - Ambati Rayudu (2018)

Taide, who played an attacking knock of 46 off 27 balls for the Kings spoke in the mid-innings break about the wicket and about the total posted by PBKS. 

"It was coming onto the bat nicely and I think we put up a good score. I had some butterflies early on, but as I saw the wicket felt comfortable and I felt I should have scored more. We feel it is a new ball game, and we can pick up a few wickets in the powerplay, we can be ahead in the game. The ball is gripping and I feel we can restrict them" said Taide in the mid-innings break. 

Speaking about Virat Kohli, his team, the Royal Challengers Bangalore made it to their ninth playoffs in the IPL as they beat CSK by 27 runs in the game. Chennai Super Kings needed 201 to qualify for the playoffs. The RCB bowlers did a great job and restricted them to 191/7 in their 20 overs. RCB won the match by 27 runs in the end and secured the fourth spot in the playoffs. 

They will play the Eliminator. However, the second and the third spot is yet to be decided. The positions will be decided after the final two league games on Sunday. KKR, though, have secured a top finish as they are placed first on the table with 19 points. The standings of SRH and RR will be decided after the results of the last two league games. RCB won six on the trot to make it to the playoffs.

Also Read: Not Virat Kohli or Faf du Plessis! Harbhajan Singh names RCB's superhero in the victory over CSK