Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh 2021: Angelo Matthews Returns As Sri Lanka Name An 18-Member Squad For Bangladesh Tests

Last Update on: April 20th, 2021 at 05:57 pm

Sri Lanka has named an 18-member squad for the upcoming ICC World Test Championship two-match series against Bangladesh, scheduled to start in Pallekele from April 21st.

Uncapped left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama and left-arm seamer Dilshan Madushanka have earned a call-up to the national team while star batsman Kusal Mendis finds himself on the sidelines again.

Sri Lanka, Bangladesh
Angelo Matthews [Image-eGtty]
Kusal Perera has missed out due to injury while former captain Angelo Matthews has returned to the squad after having left the tour of the Caribbean due to personal reasons. The rest of the batting unit is the same that faced the West Indies back in March.

In a surprise move given the fact that the series is taking place in the island nation, Sri Lanka has picked as many as five pacers in their squad and while Dushmanta Chamerra (paternity leave) and Kasun Rajitha (injury) have missed out, Lahiru Kumara, who missed the Test series against the West Indies due to Covid has returned.

Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh 2021: Angelo Matthews Returns As Sri Lanka Name An 18-Member Squad For Bangladesh Tests

Leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga is the only specialist spinner in the squad as Lakshan Sandakan has been omitted. Ramesh Mendis and Dhananjaya de Silva will serve as off-spin all-rounders.

Left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama has been picked because of the absence of Lasith Embuldeniya, who picked up a soft-tissue injury while fielding during the second Test against the West Indies.

Bangladesh will lock horns with Sri Lanka in two Tests in Pallekele and they will be aiming to better the 1-1 result that they achieved during their last visit and register their maiden Test series win against Sri Lanka.

Also Read: IPL 2021: Venkatesh Prasad, Simon Doull Speak In Favour Of Mankading After Dwayne Bravo Was Seen Backing Up Yards Against Rajasthan Royals

Sri Lanka’s squad for the two-match Test series against Bangladesh:

Dimuth Karunaratne (C), Niroshan Dickwella (WK), Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Pathum Nissanka, Dhananjaya De Silva,  Roshen Silva, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Asitha Fernando

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.