MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni (Image Credit: Twitter)

Legendary Indian Test opener Sunil Gavaskar has picked his all-time IPL XI ahead of the 14th season of the cash-rich league.

Gavaskar picked six-time IPL-winner and the most successful captain in the history of the tournament, Rohit Sharma, and the ‘Universe Boss’ Chris Gayle as his openers in the all-time IPL XI.

IPL, Sunil Gavaskar, Rohit Sharma and Chris Gayle
Rohit Sharma and Chris Gayle (Twitter)

While Rohit is one of the four cricketers to notch up 5000 IPL runs, Chris Gayle is the record-holder for the most number of sixes and the most hundreds in the cash-rich league.

The former Indian cricketer picked SunRisers Hyderabad run-machine David Warner at the No.3 spot followed by the highest run-getter in the history of the competition, RCB’s Virat Kohli.

Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers
Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers (Image Credit: Twitter)

Kohli is followed by his friend and long-time Royal Challengers Bangalore teammate AB de Villiers.

MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina
MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina for CSK (Photo-BCCI)

Suresh Raina, who is the second-highest run-getter in IPL history, makes it to the sixth spot in the playing 11 followed by the three-time IPL-winning captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni- who will also lead the team- and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja.

As far as the bowling department is concerned, Gavaskar picked Kolkata Knight Riders off-spinner Sunil Narine and the Indian pace-bowling duo of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah.

Lasith Malinga
Lasith Malinga (Image Credit: Twitter)

Interestingly, Sunil Gavaskar picked Lasith Malinga, the leading wicket-taker in the history of the lucrative league, as his 12th man.

Gavaskar, who picked his all-time XI on Star Sports, apologized for missing out on any other names.

“I’m sorry if I missed out any players, I’ve never been a selector in my life and I now understand how hard it is to pick a team”


Sunil Gavaskar’s all-time IPL Playing XI-

Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, David Warner, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni [C & WK], Ravindra Jadeja, Sunil Narine, Bhuveshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah,

12th man– Lasith Malinga

Also Read- Has India’s Best Spin Duo Of Yuzvendra Chahal And Kuldeep Yadav Become The Worst After MS Dhoni’s Departure?

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.