T20 World Cup Group Draws To Be Announced On Friday During A Ceremony In Oman

Updated - 16 Jul 2021, 01:11 PM

ICC T20I World Cup 2021 trophy
ICC T20I World Cup 2021 trophy (Image Credit: Twitter)

Table of Contents

The highly-anticipated group draws for the T20 World Cup 2021 will be revealed on Friday during a ceremony in Oman, the co-host of the tournament along with UAE.

It is reported that BCCI President Sourav Ganguly and Board Secretary Jay Shah, along with other ICC officials will be present at the ceremony to announce the teams at around 3:30 PM.

The match schedule will take another week but the groups will be announced on Friday. Fans are eagerly waiting to see if arch-rivals India and Pakistan are pitted against each other in the same group; for the T20 World Cup 2020 in Australia, which was postponed due to the pandemic, India and Pakistan were in separate groups. It remains to be seen if the same happens this year or not.

India, Pakistan
India and Pakistan last played in the 2019 World Cup. [Image-Getty]
Earlier it was confirmed that the T20 World Cup 2021 has been shifted from India to the UAE due to the pandemic. This decision came after the IPL 2021 was halted mid-way following the covid-19 outburst in the franchises; the IPL will also be conducted in the UAE, in September-October, just before the T20 World Cup, which starts mid-October. However, the BCCI will retain the hosting rights.

The ICC then added Oman as a co-host for the T20 World  Cup. Hence the showcase tournament now will be played across four venues: Dubai International Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground.

It is learned that the first round of the T20 World Cup – the final qualifying round – will be split across two groups and played in the UAE and Oman. Eight teams – Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman, Papua New Guinea – will compete in the first round over 12 matches, with the top two from each group qualifying for the Super 12s, where they will join the top eight ranked T20I teams.
T20 World Cup, West Indies Cricket Team
West Indies Cricket Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

In the Super 12s phase teams will be split into two groups of six each. These matches will be played in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah. This will be followed by three knockout games – the two semi-finals and the final, expected on November 14.

West Indies are the defending champions having won the 2016 edition in India. Australia will host the 2022 edition after it was postponed from last year.


2021 T20 World Cup International Cricket Council (ICC) Sourav Ganguly The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)