The Hundred 2022: Squads Of All Men’s Teams After The Draft

The Hundred Cricket Tournament
The Hundred Cricket Tournament (Image Credit: Twitter)

The draft for the 2022 season of The Hundred was held on Monday morning.

The likes of Nicholas Pooran, David Warner and Babar Azam went unsold due to their availability issues during the course of the tournament.

The sides focused on getting in the local talent, players who are on the fringes of a national call up. Five of the eleven top-bracket £125,000 picks were used on domestic players on the fringes of the England national team.

Each side would get to sign two ‘wildcard’ players in July; one overseas and one domestic. This will complete the squad size.

The Hundred 2022: Here’s How The 8 Sides Stack Up After The Drafts

London Spirit

Eoin Morgan
London Spirit skipper Eoin Morgan. (Credits: Twitter)

Spirit got the services of Kieron Pollard, who would miss the majority of the tournament due to his national commitments and the Caribbean Premier League. They tried to sign Sunil Narine but the Right to Match card was used by Oval Invincibles to claim Narine back.

Liam Dawson was also signed by Spirit for 125K Euros. Glenn Maxwell and Eoin Morgan would take care of the middle order, with Morgan leading the side.

In bowling, they got the services of Australian pacer Riley Meredith who will partner with Mark Wood. They also got Jordan Thompson who is a promising allrounder with a T20 strike rate of 165. Daniel Bell-Drummond was also signed as a backup opener for Zak Crawley.  While Chris Wood provides a left-arm angle.


Kieron Pollard, Liam Dawson, Glenn Maxwell, Eoin Morgan, Riley Meredith, Jordan Thompson, Mason Crane, Dan Lawrence, Chris Wood, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Ravi Bopara, Adam Rossington, Blake Cullen, Brad Wheal, Zak Crawley, Mark Wood.

Welsh Fire

Jonny Bairstow
Jonny Bairstow. (Photo: Twitter)

Joe Clarke and Tom Banton were their highest-paid signings in the draft, as they focused on signing young players. They also got in Adam Zampa and David Miller both of whom are expected to play the full season. One of these two could also lead the side. Jacob Bethell, the U-19 star of the English side was also picked keeping in mind the future. Naseem Shah was also signed. But his availability is also a concern.


Jake Ball, Jonny Bairstow, Josh Cobb, Matt Critchley, Ben Duckett, Leus du Plooy, Ryan Higgins, David Payne, Ollie Pope, Joe Clarke, Tom Banton, Adam Zampa, David Miller, Naseem Shah, Sam Hain, Jacob Bethell

Manchester Originals

Jos Buttler
Jos Buttler. (Photo: Twitter)

Originals signed four players in the draft. They got Andre Russell and Laurie Evans for 125K Euros. They also got Wanindu Hasaranga, the Sri Lankan leg spinner who has had a pretty good IPL so far. His availability may be a concern, though, as Sri Lanka has a series lined up when The Hundred is scheduled. Sean Abbott was signed as the death bowler. He is the leading wicket-taker in the Big Bash League.
Daniel Worrall was also signed, the most surprising signing by the team as he doesn’t really have had a good time in the Big Bash League recently nor in the Blast T20 league.


Colin Ackermann, Jos Buttler, Calvin Harrison, Tom Hartley, Fred Klaassen, Tom Lammonby, Wayne Madsen, Jamie Overton, Matt Parkinson, Ollie Robinson, Phil Salt, Andre Russell, Laurie Evans, Wanindu Hasaranga, Daniel Worrall, Sean Abbott.

Northern Superchargers

Ben Stokes
Ben Stokes (Image Credit: Twitter)

The team focused on getting in bowlers after their team’s dismal performance in the death overs. They signed Dwayne Bravo and Wahab Riaz as their death bowling options. Faf du Plessis missed the last season due to a concussion but he returns for this season and he is likely to lead the side. Roelof van der Merwe and Luke Wright were also signed by the team, both of them would bring experience to the side. Adam Hose was also signed who too missed the last season due to an injury. He is a versatile batter who can bat at the top and in the middle.


Harry Brook, Brydon Carse, Faf du Plessis, Adam Lyth, Callum Parkinson, Matthew Potts, Adil Rashid, John Simpson, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Dwayne Bravo, Wahab Riaz, Adam Hose, Reolof van der Merwe, Luke Wright.

Oval Invincibles

Sam Curran
Sam Curran. Image-Twitter.

They used their RTM to get Narine. They also roped in Rilee Rossouw and Hilton Cartwright. Cartwright comes with a 6- hitting reputation in the Big Bash League. Danny Briggs was an astute buy at 50k Euros, while Jack Leaning and Matt Milnes who were part of Kent’s T20 Blast-winning side were also bought. These two buys have captain Sam Billings’ fingerprints all over them.


Sam Billings, Rory Burns, Jordan Cox, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Will Jacks, Saqib Mahmood, Jason Roy, Nathan Sowter, Reece Topley, Sunil Narine, Matt Milnes, Rilee Rossouw, Danny Briggs, Hilton Cartwright, Jack Leaning.

Trent Rockets

Rashid Khan
Rashid Khan (Image Credit: Getty)

They went for hard-hitting batters, they tried to get in Quinton de Kock and Tom Banton but had to ultimately sign Tom Kohler-Cadmore. They also picked up Colin Munro who is likely to be available throughout the tournament, and Ian Cockbain. Cockbain is unlikely to start as Joe Root is likely to start for the Rockets. Luke Fletcher was their final signing of the day.


Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Colin Munro, Luke Fletcher, Ian Cockbain, Matt Carter, Sam Cook, Marchant de Lange, Lewis Gregory, Alex Hales, Rashid Khan, Dawid Malan, Tom Moores, Steven Mullaney, Samit Patel, Joe Root, Luke Wood.

Birmingham Phoenix

Chris Woakes
Chris Woakes. Image-Twitter

Matthew Wade was picked up as the opener, he is expected to be available for the whole tournament and is likely to open the innings with Will Smeed. They also picked Olly Stone. He is not expected to turn up for the English Test team so it should be expected that he plays the full season, his fitness permitting. They used their final overseas spot for Kane Richardson. They signed Graeme van Buuren who could be a solid backup all-rounder. Matthew Fisher was also added in the squad and he is expected to add firepower in the fast bowling department.


Tom Abell, Moeen Ali, Chris Benjamin, Henry Brookes, Miles Hammond, Benny Howell, Liam Livingstone, Adam Milne, Will Smeed, Chris Woakes, Matthew Wade, Olly Stone, Kane Richardson, Matthew Fisher, Graeme van Buuren

Southern Brave

Jofra Archer
Jofra Archer (Image Credit: Twitter)

The defending champions didn’t have to do a lot of work in the drafts as they already had a pretty settled side. They did spring a surprise though when they picked up young U-19 English leg spinner, Rehan Ahmed. Their other signings were Joe Weatherley who could be a good middle-order batter and Dan Moriarty who can provide the spin-bowling backup option.


Quinton de Kock, Rehan Ahmed, Joe Weatherley, Dan Moriarty, Jofra Archer, Tim David, Alex Davies, George Garton, Chris Jordan, Jake Lintott, Tymal Mills, Craig Overton, Marcus Stoinis, James Vince, Ross Whiteley.

Also Read: There Was “‘Additional Political Pressure” Surrounding That Match Which Everybody Was Aware Of: Paddy Upton On India vs Pakistan Semifinal in 2011 World Cup

Related Posts