The Hundred
The Hundred (Image Credit: Getty)

Last Update on: December 1st, 2021 at 10:49 pm

Top England players in white-ball cricket are expected to gain massive financial benefits from England and Wales Cricket Board’s (ECB) The Hundred 2022.

Players like Jason Roy, Jos Buttler, Eoin Morgan and Liam Livingstone are likely to see pay rise following a 25% increase in salaries for the competition.

Jason Roy and Jos Buttler, Best Opening Pair Of T20 World Cup 2021
Jason Roy and Jos Buttler (Image Credit: Twitter)

The Hundred 2022: Men’s teams to have a purse of €1 million

According to a report by ESPNCricicnfo, regulations circulated to Hundred teams this week, mentioned that salary bands have reverted to their initial levels for the 2022 edition, meaning teams will have a purse of €1 million rather than last year’s €800,000.

ECB will target to rope in foreign players by creating a powerful payment structure just like IPL.

Northern Superchargers, Birmingham Phoenix
Image Credit: Twitter

Men’s teams to retain 10 players for The Hundred 2022

The Men’s teams in The Hundred will be allowed to retain at least 10 players, including those who were ruled out due to injuries or travel restrictions. Australia’s duo of David Warner and Glenn Maxwell along with Pakistan pacer Shaheen Afridi fall under the aforementioned category.

The retention window was opened on December 1 (Wednesday morning) and will shut in the middle of the February. The player’s draft will be conducted in March.

Read More  George Bailey Not Surprised To See David Warner Picking His Form Right On The Cusp Of ICC World Cup 2023

According to the report, the wildcard draft will be held in July after the group stages of the T20 Blast, each team gets the leeway to pick a player based on his performance at that point.

The salaries for female players might also increase after a great response in the first season.

Southern Brave are the title holders of Men’s Hundred after they defeated Birmingham Phoenix in the final. Oval Invincibles defeated Southern Brave in the Women’s Hundred final to be crowned as the inaugural champions.

Also Read: If Not For The Hundred, I Don’t Think I Would’ve Been Selected For India: Jemimah Rodrigues<