Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav (Image Credits: Twitter)

Veteran leg spinner Amit Mishra stated that Suryakumar Yadav faced the challenge of captaincy during Australia’s innings during the first T20I match. However, Amit Mishra said that Suryakumar Yadav handled it exceptionally well to guide the Indian team to victory.

Suryakumar was named as captain of the T20I squad in the absence of Hardik Pandya, who was unavailable for selection due to an injury. He made his captaincy debut in the first game, where the team secured a two-wicket victory in Visakhapatnam on November 23.

Australia put up a total of 208/3 after being asked to bat first. Josh Inglis scored 110 runs off 50 deliveries with the help of 11 boundaries and eight sixes. Mukesh Kumar bowled brilliantly despite other bowlers going for runs and conceded just 29 runs in his four overs.

Suryakumar Yadav Played A Captain’s Knock – Amit Mishra

Amit Mishra commended Yadav for delivering a match-winning performance in India’s chase, describing it as a captain’s knock. Mishra suggested that Yadav should maintain the same approach, emphasizing playing to his strengths without altering his style.

“He played a captain’s knock in the 1st T20I. He played to his strengths and did not make any change to his approach. The pressure of captaincy was visible when India were bowling, but he was really calm when he came to bat. He should continue maintaining the same approach,” Mishra said.

Read More  The foundation for transition in Test team has been laid with Ranchi Test: Pragyan Ojha

Suryakumar Yadav Receives Player Of The Match Award

The hosts lost their last two wickets for 22 runs inside three overs during the run chase. Wicketkeeper-batsman Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar steadied the innings and added 112 runs for the third wicket. Ishan scored 58 runs off 39 balls, featuring 2 fours and 5 sixes.

Suryakumar Yadav displayed a fearless approach, scoring an impressive 80 runs off 43 balls. The right-handed batter smashed nine boundaries and four sixes. He earned the Player of the Match award for the 13th time in T20Is, surpassing Rohit Sharma’s tally of 12 POTM awards.

India secured a thrilling victory with one ball to spare, taking a 1-0 lead in the five-match series against the visitors. The hosts will take on the Australian team in the second T20I at the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram on Sunday, November 26.

Also read: ‘Suryakumar Yadav Can Just Be T20 Cricketer’: Aakash Chopra Warns India Of Losing ‘T20 Rockstar’

Saikrishna Vaitla is an author at Cricketaddictor has been working since September 2022.