Bangladesh, BCB
Bangladesh women cricket team [Image-Twitter]

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has extended the quarantine period of their women’s cricket team after two members in their contingent turned COVID-19 positive.

Bangladesh team returned from Zimbabwe in the middle of the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers 2021 owing to travel restrictions in the African nation amid the detection of a new COVID-19 variant Omicron.

Bangladesh Women Cricket
Bangladesh women cricket team. Credits: Twitter

Bangladesh women team members to extend quarantine: BCB

BCB issued a statement regarding the extension of their team’s quarantine period and also said all team members will undergo COVID-19 Tests.

The team members, who were sharing the same room, had returned negative results in the two tests conducted in Dhaka on December 1 and 3. However, the report from a third PCR test on December 6 has shown both to be Covid-19 positive,” BCB said in a statement.

“As such, the mandatory isolation of the team, which was due to end today (Monday, December 6, 2021), has been extended as per the Covid-19 Management Protocol of the BCB. The team members will undergo further tests and evaluation during the extended isolation,” it added.

Bangladesh women’s team defeated Pakistan and USA but lost to Thailand in Group B of the World Cup qualifiers tournament.

Bangladesh women cricket team
Bangladesh women cricket team. Credits: ICC

ICC calls off World Cup Qualifiers event

Meanwhile, ICC announced that Bangladesh women’s team along with Pakistan and West Indies will qualify for the 2022 ICC Women’s World Cup on the virtue of their rankings.

“We have explored a number of options to allow us to complete the event but it isn’t feasible and we will fly the teams out of Zimbabwe as soon as possible. Bangladesh, Pakistan and the West Indies will now qualify for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2022 by virtue of their rankings, whilst Sri Lanka and Ireland will also join them in the next cycle of the ICC Women’s Championship,” ICC said in its statement.

The number of teams in the third cycle of the ICC Women’s Championship (from 2022-2025) has been increased from eight to ten, and these teams will be Australia, England, India, South Africa, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Ireland.

Also ReadICC Documents Bangladesh Women Cricketer’s Unique Marriage Photoshoot