USA To Co-Host T20 World Cup 2024 As ICC Announces Venues For ICC Tournaments From 2024 To 2031
USA To Co-Host T20 World Cup 2024 As ICC Announces Venues For ICC Tournaments From 2024 To 2031

The United States of America (USA) is set to co-host its first ICC tournament in cricketing history as the Council announced the tournaments set to take place from 2024 to 2031 along with the nations that will host the said events.

The first one will be the 2024 T20 World Cup which will be hosted jointly by the USA and the West Indies. It will be America’s first major involvement in the cricketing world and it’s set to add to the rapid growth of the sport in the country.

In June 2024, the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will go somewhere it has never been before, with the USA hosting the event alongside the West Indies, which staged the tournament in 2010,” a statement from the official ICC website read.

Australia, Aaron Finch
Australia won the most recent T20 World Cup trophy. (Photo: Twitter)

Soon after, Pakistan is all set to welcome back ICC tournaments as the rights to host the returning-ICC Champions Trophy 2025 has been given to the Ramiz Raja-led Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). Another T20 World Cup will be played in 2026 that will be jointly hosted by Asian giants, India and Sri Lanka.

Eight ICC tournaments set to be played in a 7-year period

The usual four-year cycle will be followed for the ODI World Cups while the T20 World Cups will continue to be played every two years. The Champions Trophy, which was removed from ICC’s itinerary, will make a comeback in the home of the defending champions, Pakistan.

Eoin Morgan, England, 2019 World Cup
Eoin Morgan poses with the 2019 World Cup. Image-Getty

After the 2023 ODI World Cup in India, there will be another first-time host – Namibia, as the 2027 ODI World Cup will be played in South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia. Ireland and Scotland, which last hosted a major cricketing event back in 1999, have been given the rights for the 2030 T20 World Cup along with England.

The ICC cricketing schedule from 2024-2031:

June 2024, T20 World Cup – USA & West Indies
February 2025, Champions Trophy – Pakistan
February 2026, T20 World Cup – India & Sri Lanka
October-November 2027, ODI World Cup – South Africa, Zimbabwe, Namibia
October 2028, T20 World Cup – Australia & New Zealand
October 2029, Champions Trophy – India
June 2030, T20 World Cup – England, Ireland & Scotland
October-November 2031, ODI World Cup – India & Bangladesh

Also Read – T20 World Cup 2021: New Zealand Didn’t Look The Same Team That Beat India Or England Reckons Gautam Gambhir Demanding ‘Refund’ For Finals