Virat Kohli becomes first man on planet to achieves this sensational feat in ICC tournaments

Published - 22 Jun 2024, 10:54 PM | Updated - 22 Jun 2024, 10:57 PM

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli {PC:X}

India batter Virat Kohli achieved a massive feat in the history of the International Cricket Council (ICC) tournaments. The star achieved the feat in the ongoing game against Bangladesh in the T20 World Cup 2024. The Super 8 stage of the game between the teams is underway at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua and Barbuda. 

Virat Kohli, who has looked in not-so-good touch in the ongoing T20 World Cup 2024, played a positive innings and it looked like he returned to form as he played some magnificent shots in his innings to keep his team in the hunt in their second game of Super 8 stage. 

Virat Kohli opened the innings and came out all guns blazing with the bat. He hit some crisp shots and made many go gaga with his innings. He added 39 runs opening partnership with Rohit Sharma (23) and then 32 runs with Rishabh Pant (36). 

Over the years, Virat Kohli has been tremendous for India in the ICC tournaments. He has been the backbone of the team in all three formats of the game and is still going strong even in his late 30s and in the presence of youngsters. 

In the ongoing game against Bangladesh at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua and Barbuda, Virat Kohli played a vital hand. He ended with an innings of 37 runs off 28 balls. He batted with a strike rate of over 132 and also slammed 1 four and 3 sixes in his knock. 

Based on his start with the bat along with a strong finish from Hardik Pandya, who slammed a half-century, India posted a gigantic total of 196 runs on the board at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua and Barbuda. 

Most runs in ICC Limited Over Tournaments; Virat Kohli tops the list 

India batter Virat Kohli sits on top of the list of most runs in the ICC Limited Overs tournaments. He has completed 3500 runs in the event. With India set to play a few more games in the ongoing T20 World Cup 2024, his numbers are likely to increase. The premier batter is followed by skipper Rohit Sharma, who has mustered 3107 runs to his name in the history of the ICC white-ball tournaments. 

Chris Gayle also features in the list with 2942 runs to his name while the Sri Lanka duo of Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene are next on the list with 2876 and 2858 runs respectively to their name. Batting great Sachin Tendulkar (2719) and David Warner (2590) are the last two names on the list of the most runs in ICC events (white-ball).

Here’s the list of Most runs in ICC Limited Over Tournaments

3500 - Virat Kohli 

3107 - Rohit Sharma 

2942 - Chris Gayle 

2876 - Kumar Sangakkara 

2858 - Mahela Jayawardene 

2719 - Sachin Tendulkar 

2590 - David Warner


India National Cricket Team Bangladesh National Cricket Team ICC T20 World Cup Virat Kohli