Zimbabwe Announce 15-Member Squad For The Three-Match ODI Series Against The Netherlands

Published - 17 Mar 2023, 06:03 PM | Updated - 06 Jun 2024, 11:24 AM

Zimbabwe, ZIM vs NED
Zimbabwe players celebrate wicket of Virat Kohli (PC-Getty Images)

Zimbabwe announced a 15-member full-strength squad for the upcoming three-match One Day International series against the Netherlands, with the first ODI scheduled to be played at the Harare Sports Club in Harare on Tuesday, March 21. Craig Ervine will lead the squad in the series, which is part of the ODI Super League series.

Sikandar Raza, Ryan Burl, Sean Williams, Tendai Chatara, and Blessing Muzarabani have returned to the national squad after missing the two-Test series against the West Indies in Bulawayo last month. Zimbabwe lost the series 1–0 after drawing the first Test match, which was affected by the rain and suffering a defeat by an innings and four runs in the second match.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

Raza and Burl missed the last series due to their franchise commitments. Raza was part of the Lahore Qalandars in the Pakistan Super League (PSL), while Burl represented the Sylhet Strikers in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), and then the Rhinos and Northerns in Zimbabwe.

Williams and Chatara both suffered injuries during the white-ball series against Ireland in January. Williams sustained a fractured finger, while Chatara picked up a thigh-muscle injury. Muzarabani has been sidelined from the squad since last November with a recurrence of an old quad muscle injury.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Zimbabwe cricket head coach Dave Houghton stated that the team wants to win the series to prepare for the upcoming World Cup qualifying competition. Houghton hinted that they will plan to try out different combinations in the upcoming series.

“It’s great to have the whole team back and everyone fighting fit. It’s naturally our intention to win the series – however, in doing so, it is also an opportunity to try out different combinations to achieve that goal, with an eye on the upcoming World Cup qualifier tournament,” head coach Dave Houghton said in a Zimbabwe Cricket statement.

Zimbabwe ODI Squad For The Series Against Netherlands

Craig Ervine (c), Gary Ballance, Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Brad Evans, Innocent Kaia, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani (wk), Wellington Masakadza, Brandon Mavuta, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams

Also read: IND Vs AUS 2023: WATCH- Ravindra Jadeja Soars In The Air To Take A One-Handed Blinder Of Marnus Labuschagne

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah