Zimbabwe (PC:X)
Zimbabwe (PC:X)

Zimbabwe have announced the strong 15-member squad upcoming three-match T20I series against Ireland at home. Middle-order batter Brian Bennett and pacer Trevor Gwandu have earned their maiden call-ups.

The T20I series between Zimbabwe and Ireland will begin on 7th December. Following that, the second game will be played on 9th December with the last match slated to take place on 10th December. All three games will be played at the Harare Sports Club in Zimbabwe.

Sikandar Raza, who was recently appointed as skipper, will be captaining the Zimbabwe team in the three-match T20I series. Leg-spinner Brandon Mavuta and batter Tony Munyonga have been recalled into the team. Apart from them Craig Evans also has been named in the team after recovering from the groin injury, which he suffered in the first game of the Africa Qualifier.

Pacer Tendai Chatara, left-arm spinner Wellington Masakadza, and openers Innocent Kaia and Nick Welch have been dropped from the team. The rest of the squad is filled with pretty familiar names in Sean Williams, Richard Ngarava, Blessing Muzarabani, and Ryan Burl.

Zimbabwe failed to qualify for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 after failing in African region qualifiers. It was expected that they would make it easily into the tournament but it didn’t happen. This for the second consecutive time they missed out on the ICC tournament by the barest of margins.

Read More  AFG vs IRE Today Match Prediction- Only Test, Who Will Win Today’s Test Match? 2024

They also failed to qualify for the ICC World Cup 2023 by a whisker and now it’ll be massive heartbreak for their fans. Uganda and Namibia were the two teams that made it into the World Cup.

Zimbabwe squad for the T20I series against Ireland

Here’s Zimbabwe’s squad for the T20I series against Ireland:

Sikandar Raza (c), Brian Bennett, Ryan Burl, Craig Ervine, Trevor Gwandu, Luke Jongwe, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Brandon Mavuta, Carl Mumba, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sean Williams.

T20I Series Schedule:

7 December, First T20I, Harare Sports Club
9 December, Second T20I, Harare Sports Club
10 December, Third T20I, Harare Sports Club

Ankitjit is an author at Cricketaddictor. He has been working with the organization since April 2023 and he has written more than 2000 articles for the website.