Aakash Chopra Names Virender Sehwag As Captain Of His All-Time Delhi Capitals XI

Aakash Chopra Names Virender Sehwag As Captain Of His All-Time Delhi Capitals XI

Aakash Chopra named a Delhi Capitals XI studded with players who have represented the franchise over the years. The franchise, earlier known as Delhi Daredevils, represents the capital city in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The franchise has seen plenty of star players in their ranks, however, their performance have been under-par.

Delhi Capitals remains the only franchise to have never featured in the IPL final. Under the captaincy of young Shreyas Iyer the franchise reached to the IPL playoffs for the first time in seven years in the IPL 2019. The side is currently studded with young talents such as Rishabh Pant and Prithvi Shaw with Shikhar Dhawan to add mettle.

Shreyas Iyer
Rishabh Pantof DD and Shreyas Iyer captain of DD during match thirty two of the Vivo Indian Premier League 2018 (IPL 2018) between the Delhi Daredevils and the Rajasthan Royals held at the Feroz Shah Kotla Ground, Delhi on the 2nd May 2018. Photo by: Rahul Gulati /SPORTZPICS for BCCI

Aakash Chopra picked up Sehwag and Gautam Gamhir as the captain of the side. The deadly Indian pair has made the country proud on plenty of occasions. Sehwag was also named as the captain of the side. He is, incidentally, the leading run-scorer of all-time for the capital franchise.

Following them was AB de Villiers, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant. In the lower-order JP Duminy adds depth to the side with Chris Morris, Ashish Nehra and Dirk Nannes picked up as the fast bowlers.

Aakash Chopra
Aakash Chopra (Credits – Twitter)

The spin department will be handled by Amit Mishra and Shahbaz Nadeem.

Aakash Chopra’s all-time Delhi Capitals XI: Virender Sehwag (Captain), Gautam Gambhir, AB de Villiers, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), JP Duminy, Chris Morris, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ashish Nehra, Dirk Nannes

Related Posts