Arjun Tendulkar
Arjun Tendulkar (Photo by Ishara S. KODIKARA / AFP)

Arjun Tendulkar, son of India legend Sachin Tendulkar, has been named in Mumbai’s U-23 squad for the one-day cup which starts on October 31. The left-arm pacer is a regular in Mumbai’s junior teams and had also played for India U-19 in Youth Test matches last year.

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

Also Read: Is Jasprit Bumrah joining RCB? Mumbai Indians answer

Since Arjun wasn’t eligible to play next year’s U-19 World Cup, he wasn’t selected in one-day squad but did play Tests. He is now 20-year-old and has been elevated to play for the U-23 side.

Mandeep Singh, Arjun Tendulkar, DY Patil Cup

Arjun, who is also a handy batsman, recently played for MCC YC in number of T20 matches. He was recently named in the preliminary squad for the one-day trophy and has broken into the 15-member squad.

Read More: Fan Gets Fitting Reply After Asking Mumbai Indians Whether Jasprit Bumrah Is Joining RCB

Should he come up with performances in the U-23 category, he will also have a chance to break into the senior team during the ongoing season. Tendulkar is yet to be selected in Mumbai’s senior team.

Arjun Tendulkar

He has a wealthy experience of bowling to international teams. Ahead of the final of Women’s World Cup in 2017,  Arjun was one of the net bowlers bowling to Indian team. The same year, he also bowled to the England men’s team ahead of South Africa Test series.

During one of the sessions, he also injured Jonny Bairstow with his yorker. The right-handed batsman had to end his net session there and then. Arjun has also bowled in Mumbai Indians’ nets

Also Read: Sri Lanka to host England for two-match Test series

Shams Mulani will be leading Mumbai U-23 in the tournament. Hardik Tamore will be assisting him in captaincy duties.

Mumbai will face Andhra Pradesh in their opening game on October 31. They will later face Jharkhand (November 2), Rajasthan (November 4), Uttar Pradesh (November 5), Railways (November 9) and Delhi (November 11) in upcoming matches.

Read More: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers Taught Me To Play Fearless Cricket – Shivam Dube

Squad: Shams Mulani (Captain), Hardik Tamore (Vice Captain) (W.K.), Aman Khan, Adeeb Usmani, Bhupen Lalwani, Sairaj Patil, Ashay Sardesai, Chinmay Sutar, Rudra Dhandey, Shreyash Gurav, Salman Khan, Abhimanyu Vashishta, Minad Manjrekar, Arjun Tendulkar, Saksham Jha