Asia Cup 2018 | India | Pakistan | Toss Report | Cricket

Asia Cup 2018, Match 5: India vs Pakistan – Toss Report

India, Asian Cricket Council, Super Four
India-Pakistan game is underway at Dubai. Photo Credit: Getty

Pakistan won the toss and decided to bat first against India in the fifth match of the Asia Cup at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai.

Here is what the captains said:

Rohit Sharma:

Would’ve batted first. Nevertheless we now know what we’re doing. Have to accept the fact that we were rusty against HK. They played well, showed great determination. To cross the line was a great deal. Fresh game today, guys looking forward to it. Two changes: Bumrah back, Pandya back too. Shardul and Khaleel miss out.

Sarfraz Ahmed:

Will bat first. Looks like a good batting pitch, hope to get runs and put them under pressure. Same team. Have to score 280-plus.


One of the most fiercest rivalries in the game is all set to get renewed once again. The last time these two teams had met, Pakistan had blown away India to win the Champions Trophy. However, it should not hide the fact that India has earned the bragging rights of this fixture in recent times. Since the start of the decade, India have had a 6-4 win-loss equation against Pakistan in ODIs.  Even in the Asia Cup, India has won 7 of the 12 games against Pakistan.

But then again India should guard against complacency especially considering the fact that Pakistan are in good form at the moment and are very well familiar with the conditions in UAE. Moreover, both the teams are entering the contest after registering contrasting wins against Hong Kong in their opening games. While the Men in Green comfortably defeated the minnows by 8 wickets, India were given a big scare before they managed to win the game by 26 runs.

Both the teams have already sealed their spots in the top four and will be raring to win this big contest to get the momentum ahead of the big games.


India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni(w), Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Pakistan (Playing XI): Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed(w/c), Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Usman Khan




An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.