Australia Win ICC Women’s Championship Trophy For Second Time In A Row

Australia, ICC Women's Championship, Australia Women
ICC Women’s Championship, Photo Credit: Getty Images.

The Australian Women’s cricket team on Saturday was presented with ICC Women’s Championship Trophy. They have won the prestigious prize for the second time in a row, after taking an unassailable lead in the championship that was played from 2017 to 2020.

Having won 17 of the 18 games played in the tournament, Australia were obvious favourites to clinch the title, which they were presented with, after the T20 series match between India and the Aussies in Melbourne.

Skipper Meg Lanning came up to receive the coveted title which she was presented by ICC Women’s Cricket Manager, Holly Covin.

The Australian team have picked up the title with one round of matches still to be played.

Australian captain Meg Lanning opens up after winning the ICC Women’s Championship:

Meg Lanning, Australia Womens Cricket team, ICC Women's Championship
Australian Women’s cricket team (Credits: Twitter)

The ICC Women’s Championship is an eight-team ODI tournament, which provides hosts New Zealand and the team who finish in the top four spots, a direct passage into the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021.

The remaining teams will have to play in the Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifiers 2020, that will be held in Sri Lanka in July later this year.

Pragmatically, Australia have guaranteed themselves a spot in the 2021 Women’s World Cup.

Meanwhile, Lanning has highlighted the same, speaking after winning the Women’s Championship 2017-2020.

She said, “It’s pleasing to have won the ICC Women’s Championship for the second time and of course, to have secured our spot at the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 in New Zealand next year. It’s going to be a tightly fought tournament and one we’re looking forward to.”

She further added, “The Championship has been a great addition, giving more context to the ODIs we play and proving more opportunities for us to play against the other seven teams involved.

Playing Against Pakistan and Sri Lanka will help us prepare for the major tournaments: Meg Lanning

Meg Lanning, Australia Womens Cricket team, ICC Women's Championship
Meg Lanning (credits – Getty)

The 27-year-old Aussie skipper also said that her team learned a lot from their opposition teams during the ICC Women’s Championship.

“With a T20 World Cup not far off it’s been really important playing against the likes of Pakistan and Sri Lanka who we haven’t played against a lot in the past. We’ve been able to learn more about them and the way they go about things which helps us prepare for major tournaments,” said Lanning. 

Australia currently sits pretty atop the points table with 34 points from 18 matches. Also, they have a series to play against South Africa. England and South Africa have joined the table topper in qualifying for the World Cup, with one more spot up still for grabs.

Related Posts