MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni failed to touch the crease. (Credits - Twitter)

It was one of the great days at the office for Mahendra Singh Dhoni. He guided India to a memorable victory by showing his class to the world. Meanwhile, he was on the headlines for other reasons as well. MS Dhoni escaped a danger of losing a run when he failed to touch down the crease while taking a single. Meanwhile, Adam Gilchrist was wondered with the lucky escape.

Former skipper Dhoni, playing in his 334th ODI, guided India across the line with four balls to spare to back up a dazzling century from captain Virat Kohli. Dhoni was physically struggling in the hot conditions and needed treatment from the team physio to finish his match-winning knock and keep India alive in the series.

Umpires or the fielders failed to notice MS Dhoni’s short-run:

While umpiring mistakes are part and parcel of the game, seeing if a batsman is completing the run properly or not, has to be one of the most important things for the umpires to take notice. However, nowadays, the umpires seem more interested to be reliant on technology for everything and MS Dhoni took the benefit of the same.

The nature of the win was a close one, with Mahi’s six in the final over virtually sealing the fate of the game. It, however, could’ve been all different had the short-run by him was caught by the umpires. The incident took place in the 45th over of the game, bowled by Nathan Lyon.

Speaking of the same, Adam Gilchrist quoted in the air that it would have become an interesting debate if the game goes down to the wire. However, MS Dhoni has struck six off the very first ball in the final over to seal the deal.

Adam Gilchrist, MS Dhoni, MS Dhoni short run
Adam Gilchrist (Image Courtesy: Getty)

“In Lyon’s last ball of his spell, MS Dhoni chipped him to the onside and straight away said there is no need for any pushing there because I have already hit him for six earlier in the over. Then the over was called and nothing touched the ground there. So this will be interesting with India requiring 25 off 18 and it was in the 45th over, so I wonder if we will hear anything more about that should this go down to the wire,” Gilchrist said.

Well, all ended on a positive note for Indian Cricket Team. Perhaps, umpires would have also considered themselves lucky, as the game hasn’t lasted till the final ball.

Prashanth Relangi

I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!