Australia vs India 2018-19: Watch – Umpire Fail to Notice MS Dhoni’s Short Run
The square leg umpire in the second ODI between Australia and India failed to notice when MS Dhoni ran a short run. Dhoni strolled between the wickets but didn’t get his bat or foot into the crease. However, the square leg didn’t pay heed to it and one run was added to India’s score. Subsequently, the former skipper went on to change ends with Dinesh Karthik as it was the last ball of the over.
The incident happened in the 45th over when Nathan Lyon was bowling. Meanwhile, MS Dhoni was able to hit the ground running from the get-go in the second ODI.
It was Dhoni’s masterpiece.
Most importantly, the wicketkeeper-batsman was able to rotate the strike with aplomb. Dhoni hasn’t been in the best of forms in the recent past and this innings of 55 runs from 54 balls will add confidence to his bag.
In fact, seven runs were required off the final over. Dhoni smashed the first ball of the last over to bring back the old happy days of his dominance. Subsequently, he scrambled through to a quick single to get India over the line.
On the other hand, Dhoni had to face the backlash of the fans after he had played a slow inning in the first ODI. However, the former skipper was able to let his bat do all the talking for him. Furthermore, the talisman wicketkeeper also effected a quick stumping of Peter Handscomb.
MS Dhoni is 37 years old but he is still fit as a fiddle. It was hot in Adelaide as the temperature had touched 42-degree Celsius. However, the linchpin was able to prove his mettle and batted at the top of his game.
Here is the video of Dhoni in which he didn’t complete the run:
Did anyone notice that dhoni actually didn’t complete the run here? pic.twitter.com/F9KjKiFILc
— neich (@neicho32) January 15, 2019