Meanwhile, this is Curran’s first appearance in Australia’s premier T20 competition. He was due to play in the 2017/18 edition of BBL for Tasmanian side Hobart Hurricanes but pulled out of the tournament after being called into England’s Ashes squad.

Sydney Sixers Squad:

Moises Henriques (c), Sean Abbott, Joe Denly, Mickey Edwards, Ben Dwarshuis, Daniel Hughes, Nathan Lyon, Peter Nevill, Stephen O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Silk, Henry Thornton, Tom Curran, Justin Avendano, Dan Fallins