Bishan Singh Bedi Lone Indian As Lord's Unveils Visitors, Home Honours' Board XI

Bishan Singh Bedi Lone Indian As Lord’s Unveils Visitors, Home Honours’ Board XI

Bishan Singh Bedi, England Cricket Team
Bishan Singh Bedi (Credits: Twitter)

Lord’s, the mecca of cricket stadium, made two new additions to its list of honours’ board which included the visitors XI and home XI. The iconic cricket stadium in London has its way of paying tribute to the greats of the game, who have played there, by mentioning there name and contribution across on the honours board.

By scoring a century, taking five wickets in an innings or ten wickets in a match, a player ensures that their name is added to one of the famous Honours Boards in the Pavilion. These boards, in the ‘home’ and ‘away’ dressing rooms, provide a permanent reminder of the best batting and bowling performances in the long history of Lord’s, according to

Team India, Unlucky Stadiums, Unlucky Stadium for Team India
PC: Lord’s.

Bishan Singh Bedi named in Visitors honours board XI, Graeme Smith to lead the side

Spin legend Bishan Singh Bedi picked up 266 wickets in 67 Tests for India. He was honoured in the visitors honours board XI, which will be led by Graeme Smith, and included the likes of Viv Richards, Gary Sobers, Kumar Sangakkara and Malcolm Marshall.

The home honours board XI, on the other side, saw legend Graham Gooch picked as the captain over Alastair Cook. It also included premier English batsman Joe Root, all-rounder Ben Stokes and Test specialist James Anderson. Ian Botham and Kevin Pietersen were also included in the XI.

Bishan Singh Bedi Lone Indian As Lord's Unveils Visitors, Home Honours' Board XI
England, India must remind world why Tests are so special, says Bedi. Getty Images

Visitors honours board XI: Graeme Smith (c), Sir Gordon Greenidge, Sir Don Bradman, Sir Viv Richards, Sir Garry Sobers, Allan Border, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Sir Richard Hadlee, Malcolm Marshall, Bishan Singh Bedi, Glenn McGrath.

Home honours board XI: Alastair Cook, Graham Gooch (c), Joe Root, Denis Compton, Kevin Pietersen, Sir Ian Botham, Ben Stokes, Alec Stewart (wk), Derek Underwood, Fred Trueman, James Anderson.