Cricket Australia list playing XI for 3-day game against South Africa 'A' - CricketAddictor

Cricket Australia list playing XI for 3-day game against South Africa ‘A’

Cricket Australia (CA) named the eleven players to feature in the 3-day tour game against South Africa ‘A’. The only member missing in the XI is their star opener, David Warner. The match is slated to take place at Willowmoore Park, Benoni.

The explosive left-handed opener, Warner, successfully led his team towards victory in the recently concluded Trans-Tasman Tri-Nation series in Australia-New Zealand.

From the South African side, as many as five players were included with international experience. Assistant coach David Sayers, who is currently in charge of the team, believes that the team will continue from their momentum in the Ashes series.

Steven Smith, South Africa Vs Australia, Durban, Allan Border,
Steven Smith ready for massive challenge. Photo Credit: Getty Images

We just want to go out and win and play really well. It’s really important that we put in a good performance and learn from some of the things we did during the summer. It’s our only hit-out so we’ll play as strong a side as we can and get used to the conditions,” stated David Sayers according to

The Kangaroos take on the South Africans for a 4-match Test series starting at Kingsmead, Durban on March 1. The last time the Australians set foot on South African soil for a Test series in 2014, they won the series by 2-1.

Also Read: Kuldeep Yadav apologizes for the malicious activity on his Instagram account

Some of these guys haven’t played for a while, so it will be good for them to get out and have a hit-out. It looks a pretty good wicket. To be fair, four days ago it looked quite poor but it looks quite good now. We’ll just go out and play and try to adapt to the conditions we get,” further added Sayers.

Lungi Ngidi, South Africa, Six-for, Centurion, Second Test, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya
Lungi Ngidi got four scalps on day five after two on day five. Photo Credit: Getty Images.


South Africa A:

Khaya Zondo (captain), Theunis de Bruyn, Zubayr Hamza, Beuran Hendricks, Pieter Malan, Wiaan Mulder, Senuran Muthusamy, Duanne Olivier, Rudi Second (wk), Malusi Siboto, Shaun von Berg.


Steve Smith (captain), Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine (wkt), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

Also Read: Asela Gunaratne, Shehan Madushanka ruled out of Nidahas Trophy 2018