ICC Awards
Photo Credit: (ICC)

The ICC Awards are the most prestigious award for any cricket in his entire cricket career. The likes of Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar have won these awards multiple times in their career. These awards are a mark of respect to the cricketers for their contribution to international cricket.

Babar Azam won the latest edition of the ICC awards. He was nominated as the ICC Cricketer of The Year in 2021 due to his exploits with the bat across formats this year. He also led Pakistan to the semifinals of the ICC T20 World Cup which remains his biggest achievement as captain. In this article, we will take a look at players with most ICC awards in their careers.

Most ICC Men’s Awards In International Cricket

Virat Kohli-9

Virat Kohli
Image Source: Twitter

Virat Kohli has won nine ICC awards with the last of them being the Sir Garfield Sobers award for ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade and ICC Men’s ODI Player of the Decade. He scored the most runs in Tests, ODIs and T20Is during this phase which was between January 1, 2011, to October 7, 2020.

*Stats updated till 29/01/2022.

Also Read: IND vs WI: Saba Karim Surprised At ‘Absurd’ Changes In India’s ODI And T20I Squads

Kumar Sangakkara-4

Kumar Sangakkara, Sri Lanka
Kumar Sangakkara (Image Credit: Twitter)

The former Sri Lankan skipper has won the four ICC Men’s awards. In August 2013, he was named the ODI Cricketer of the Year, wicket keeper-captain of the ICC World XI Test team, and won the ICC People’s Choice Award in the 2011 ICC Awards. In 2012, he was named one of Wisden’s five Cricketers of the Year.

*Stats updated till 29/01/2022.

MS Dhoni -4

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 30: MS Dhoni of India leaves the field on day five of the Third Test match between Australia and India at Melbourne Cricket Ground on December 30, 2014 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Chris Hyde/Getty Images)
(Photo by Chris Hyde/Getty Images)

The former Indian skipper has won four ICC awards with the latest of them being the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade. He got this award for his gesture of recalling England batsmen Ian Bell following a disputable runout at Trent Bridge in 2011 ICC said.

*Stats updated till 29/01/2022.

Steve Smith-4

Steve Smith
Steve Smith (Image Credit: Twitter)

Steve Smith was awarded the Men’s Test Cricketer of the Decade in the recent ICC awards. Awards he has won include the ICC Cricketer of the Year in 2015, ICC Test Player of the Year in 2015 and 2017, ICC Men’s Test Player of the Decade for 2011–2020.

*Stats updated till 29/01/2022.

Mitchell Johnson- 3

Mithcell Johnson
Mithcell Johnson. Image Credits: Twitter

Johnson won three ICC awards with two of them being the ICC Cricketer of the Year in 2009 and 2014. He also won the ICC Test Player of the Year in 2014. He was a part of an unbeatable Australian team to kickstart his career and then was led by Michael Clarke. He was a part of Australia’s 2007 and 2015 World Cup teams.

*Stats updated till 29/01/2022.

Ricky Ponting-3

Ricky Ponting
Image Source; Twitter

The former Australian skipper won three ICC awards in his playing career. He is by far the most successful Australian skipper with three ICC World Cup titles to his name. He won the ICC Cricketer Of The Year back to back in 2006 and 2007.

*Stats updated till 29/01/2022.

AB De Villiers-3

AB de Villiers
AB de Villiers (Image Credit: Twitter)

De Villiers features last in this list having won three ICC awards. He won the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year thrice in 2010, 2014, 2015.  De Villiers retired from international cricket in 2018 when cricket fans and experts expected him to be around till the 2019 World Cup at least. Babar Azam was the latest recipient of the award in 2021.

*Stats updated till 29/01/2022.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Mumbai And Pune Finalized As Venues For The Tournament

Anshuman Roy

A Hardcore Cricket Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.